We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Planning a first trip - Girls weekend... Hotels? Bars?

Miami, Florida
2 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Planning a first trip - Girls weekend... Hotels? Bars?

Hello!

I'm planning a trip for a girls weekend in New Orleans for the first week of June 2013 (about 6 of us). It's my first time and wanted to get some advice on best/safest places to stay, must see things, best restaurants and bars... We're all about 28 years old, and are looking to spend the day time exploring the city, maybe sit by the pool, try out the food scene... And at night will want to go to bars and pubs (maybe a club if it's worth it).. Any suggestions? If there are any 2 bedroom type suites a hotel offers that would be a plus, and also I was wondering if a rental car is needed.

Thanks!

AR
Level Contributor
3,593 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Planning a first trip - Girls weekend... Hotels? Bars?

A rental car is definitely NOT needed. It will cost more to park it than you will gain by renting one. (@$30 a night) If you stay in the French Quarter, you can walk to anywhere you want to go. If you want to explore other areas, you can take a streetcar, bus, pedicab or cab very inexpensively. To begin your search for hotels, etc. go to neworleansonline.com which will give you lists of hotels, maps, restaurants, things to do, a calendar of events, coupons, etc. You can also order/download a Visitor's Guide from that site. I would also go to the Top Questions at the top, right side of this page and read through those questions/answers. Then come back to this forum with more specific questions. You will have a great time.

Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
6,409 posts
49 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Planning a first trip - Girls weekend... Hotels? Bars?