We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kayak/Snorkle tours.

Which Kailua-Kona hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Phoenix
Level Contributor
567 posts
36 reviews
Save Topic
Kayak/Snorkle tours.

Can anyone recommend a good company for a Captain Cook kayak/snorkle tour? How strenuous is kayaking for somebody not in the greateast shape? I have never done it before. I have lost about 15 lbs, I have about 15 more to go. Not in terrible shape, but am in pretty good health.

Thanks

Kim

Palm Springs...
Level Contributor
11,440 posts
102 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Kayak/Snorkle tours.

please do not try a snorkel kayak to Capt cook.... Take a tour from the many fine companies that do it.........

We have a terrible problem here with fly bu night Kayakers who are destroying this bay for personal profit...... Kayak elsewhere please... the bay is dying from this problem

Help us.......

Fairwinds,Dolphin Discoveries, Sea Quest all give professional guided tours for the same price as a Kayal rental and dont do the incredible damage as Kayakers are.....

Keno, OR
Level Contributor
412 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Kayak/Snorkle tours.

Recent marine studies of the Captain Cook area have NOT indicated that kayakers are damaging the area, as long as basic environmental safeguards are followed. I quote from West Hawaii Today on 9/24/05: "The science does not support degradation at Kealakekua Bay," said Peter Young, state Land Board chairman. "So rather than restrict, we have the opportunity to regulate and make sure the bay remains healthy".