We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Preferred Rental Car Company at KOA?

Northern California
Level Contributor
62 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Preferred Rental Car Company at KOA?

I am currently holding two rental car reservations for our trip in May from Discount Hawaii Car Rental---one from Alamo and one from Enterprise. Does anyone have an opinion as to a preferred car rental company at the Kona airport location or are they essentially all the same? If there is no company with a better customer service/product at KOA, then I would just keep the reservation with the lowest price. Thanks for opinions.

Canada
Level Contributor
9,168 posts
40 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Preferred Rental Car Company at KOA?

Normally, I would say .....all the Majors are equal at KOA. However, I have no experience with Enterprise at that location as it is fairly new to the scene in the last couple of years. I was told their hours of operation may not be as flexible as the other companies.

We travel to KOA frequently and are often met with Airline delays and late evening arrivals. The Majors like Alamo, Avis, Budget, Hertz , National etc all stay open until the last flight arrives...no matter what the time. I have witnessed a 0330 hr arrival for example.

You could check with Enterprise locally (808 #) to inquire as to their practice.

Strathmore...
Level Contributor
50 posts
30 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Preferred Rental Car Company at KOA?