We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DTW to SEA to ICN, is 2 hours enough to transfer flights?

Ann Arbor, Michigan
7 posts
Save Topic
DTW to SEA to ICN, is 2 hours enough to transfer flights?

I'm wanting to use skymiles through delta to purchase a flight from DTW to SEA, and then two hours later, catch a flight from SEA to ICN.

The specific flights i'm looking at are delta 2628 and delta 199, I've never flown before and i have zero experience so i'm very confused. I can save 700 dollars by using my uncle's skymiles to buy the DTW to SEA flight and then purchasing the SEA to ICN flight on my own, but is two hours enough time to get off of the flight and board the next? This wouldn't be a "legal" connection.

Thanks!

western WA
Level Contributor
8,997 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: DTW to SEA to ICN, is 2 hours enough to transfer flights?

DTW Detroit? ICN? Seems like it is cutting it too close, since you have to go out of security to get your bags and recheck them. If you're traveling carry on only , it is still short but might work, depending on if one of those is an international destination.

Seattle, Washington
Destination Expert
for Seattle
Level Contributor
7,332 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: DTW to SEA to ICN, is 2 hours enough to transfer flights?

Picking a random date (June 2nd) I see an 8:45-10:29 AM flight #2423 DTW to SEA. Connecting flight # 199 departs SEA to ICN at 12:25 PM. You'd have to ask the airlines to link your flights otherwise the luggage wouldn't be automatically transferred from your first flight to the 2nd. Not 100% sure if that's possible, so hopefully someone can advise you on that.

Without connecting the 2 flights, then you'd have to leave the secure area, claim your luggage, then re-check. I simply don't think 2 hours is enough time to do that.