We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

visting atlanta first time

Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 posts
31 reviews
Save Topic
visting atlanta first time

Hello,

I'm going for a meeting in Atlanta next week. It's my first time in US so I'm feeling very nervous. Adding to this, I just read a preview in tripadvisor that the hotel I booked (Ramada Limited, Piedmont Road) is in a shady area and the hotel itself is very bad. But one good thing is it's a walking distance from the Lindbergh Marta station...any advice?

Atlanta, GA
2 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: visting atlanta first time

Don't worry. The motel is not in a bad area of town. It's actually an area that is being redeveloped. If you walk to the north toward the Lindbergh station, you will find plenty of good restaurants and also a big shopping area. Because I live here, I've never been in the hotel rooms, so I can't tell you how they are. I went there one time for a meeting in the late afternoon and it seemed like it was probably just an average motel. Nothing fancy, but all you do is sleep there. I hope this helps you.

Norbert

Atlanta, Georgia
Destination Expert
for Atlanta
Level Contributor
12,070 posts
100 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: visting atlanta first time

The Lindbergh MARTA station is in an area that once was shady, but has really developed and improved over the past few years. There are a couple of nice shopping areas nearby. The area is becoming more expensive, but there is still a very large hispanic immigrant (legal and illegal) community in that area. As such there is a lot of foot traffic.