We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How to work out Turkish Lira into Sterling??

Wakefield, United...
Level Contributor
19 posts
Save Topic
How to work out Turkish Lira into Sterling??

Hi, can anyone help me out please. I just want to know if I've been told right? Thomas Cook said the best way to work it out is you half it and knock a pound off so if I have 50TL I half which makes it 25TL then I knock a pound off so 50TL is roughly £24......is this right??

Never been to Turkey before n it's my first time I'm going in 7 days to Hisaronu and staying at Liberty Hotel. Can't wait dead excited :)

Rosehearty, United...
Level Contributor
10,190 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: How to work out Turkish Lira into Sterling??

Thomas Cook obviously do not keep up with the news, or they simply cannot count very well.

As the rate is near enough 3 to the GB£ simply divide the Lira cost by 3

so 50 lira = £16.66

Watford, United...
Level Contributor
457 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: How to work out Turkish Lira into Sterling??

No thats too much. 50TL at todays exchange rate is about £17.50. Its not so easy now the exchange rate has improved, ( it was easier when it was 2.5), but the simplist is in multipals of 10. So 10TL is £3.50. 20TL £7, 50TL £17.50, 100TL £35 etc. We will all need to learn out 35 times table now!!!

You beat me FF - and your calculation is much easier!!!

Edited: 25 June 2013, 12:19
Wakefield, United...
Level Contributor
19 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: How to work out Turkish Lira into Sterling??

Oh I see so Thomas Cook as told me wrong then?? Daft sods. Thanks guys :)

silloth cumbria
Level Contributor
694 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: How to work out Turkish Lira into Sterling??