We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bodies Exhibit

Which Cincinnati hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Saint Louis...
Level Contributor
203 posts
22 reviews
Save Topic
Bodies Exhibit

Has anyone been to the bodies exhibit at the Cincinnati museum? I am very interested in seeing it as I am a health professional but wanted to get some reviews before hand.

Thanks.

Berea, Ohio
Level Contributor
1,439 posts
77 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Bodies Exhibit

Saw "Body Worlds 2" in Cleveland at the Great Lakes Science Center a few years ago. For those who haven't heard of this exhibit, it's a blend of art and science -- donated human bodies and organs preserved through a process called plastination. The human body in all its elegance and complexity...it's phenomenal. Wherever it's gone, there's been debate among ethicists, religious leaders, and the public over whether it's right to have dead bodies sliced and diced for display at a museum, but I think the exhibit may increase appreciation for creation and the dignity of the human person.

The bodies themselves are the focus with smaller organ-based displays in between. The body displays are in cases, as I recall, partially cut apart and arranged to show the complexity and beauty of a particular system. The organ exhibits I remember showed healthy organs compared to various conditions (a healthy brain vs tumor/stroke) or demonstrating the damage caused by smoking and alcohol abuse.

Kentucky
Level Contributor
96 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Bodies Exhibit

There is some dispute about the "donation" of the bodies. Perhaps you want to look into the ethics of plasticizing human bodies before you pay up.

Chillicothe, Ohio
Destination Expert
for Ohio, Sandusky
Level Contributor
3,409 posts
96 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Bodies Exhibit