We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Photography Question

Wichita, Kansas
Destination Expert
for Wichita
Level Contributor
659 posts
144 reviews
Save Topic
Photography Question

I have a 70-200mm lens. I would like to get a bigger lens but my price does not go above a 300mm (and probably never will). I would like to hear your thoughts on whether it would be worth it to get a 70-300mm to have that extra 100mm. I am fairly new to the DSLR world and appreciate your thoughts. Would there be a reason why I would want to keep the 70-200mm if I did? Thanks.

AKJ
Bruceton Mills...
Level Contributor
2,526 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Photography Question

I'm inclined to tell you no. You can crop the 200mm to get pretty close to the 300mm.

It probably also depends on the quality of the lens you already have and whether the 300mm would simply be a better lens. If so, it might be worth it.

What kind of camera are you using? How many megapixels.

Do you have something wider than 70mm. That range isn't great for scenery.

Keep the lens you have? Probably not worth it but you didn't say what lens it is. I used a 70 x 300 some out there but usually had a 28 x 200 or a Sigma 50 x 500 on my Nikon 200.

Not much of an answer above but at least some random thoughts.

Wichita, Kansas
Destination Expert
for Wichita
Level Contributor
659 posts
144 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Photography Question

Thanks AKJ. I have an 18-55 for landscapes. My camera is a Nikon D40X, so I have plenty of room to crop. I don't have a lot of options since I have to have the motor in the lens to utilize auto. I would go with a Sigma 70-300.

New York
Destination Expert
for Travel Gadgets and Gear
Level Contributor
1,460 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Photography Question