We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Birds in September

Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 posts
27 reviews
Save Topic
Birds in September

I'm interested in any notable birds that we can spot in Yellowstone or GT. I'm from Ohio, so I'll even be on the lookout for the plentiful ravens!

So far, I've read about some that I have yet to see: Stellar Jay, White pelican, golden eagle, Great grey owl, Black-backed and Three-toed woodpeckers, Mountain bluebird, Mountain chickadee and I'm sure many more. Oh, or waterfowl! Will they be migrating through? I'm still new to spotting birds.

If there are particular spots that you can recommend, I'd love it!

Edited: 02 July 2012, 18:35
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
449 posts
26 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Birds in September

Here are some sightings we had in June:

Pelicans at Fishing Bridge

Williamson's Sapsuckers at Calcite Spring (dead tree to the left as you go up the wooden steps & boardwalk from the parking lot)

Western Tanager at Tower Fall

Mountain Bluebirds common around Old Faithful, bridge over Firehole River near Oblong Geyser (lots of Tree Swallows there too)

Violet-Green Swallows very close at Inspiration Point (Canyon)

Osprey nest to the left of Lookout Point - opposite the lower falls as you are standing there (Canyon)

American Avocet in Hayden Valley

Northern Flicker along Taggart Lake trail in Grand Teton

That's about all I remember.

-Tim

Edited: 02 July 2012, 18:59
N. Idaho
Destination Expert
for Yellowstone National Park
Level Contributor
21,321 posts
109 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Birds in September

Here's the big list!

nps.gov/yell/…birdlist_2011.pdf

Tim saw a bunch of birds! I am jealous of the sapsucker sighting.

You can also see white pelicans all along the Yellowstone River in addition to Fishing Bridge.