We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Short trip to Yellowstone/Grand Tetons mid-June

San Francisco...
5 posts
Save Topic
Short trip to Yellowstone/Grand Tetons mid-June

Hi all,

Happy to find this forum.

I loved Yellowstone so much when I visited in 1987 as a grad student, I am excited to be on

this short trip, with my wife, son and daughter. The only open slot among the 4 of us

happens to be this narrow window of 5 days. Didn't plan in advance, not much choice for cheap airline/in-park hotels.

** I have not yet booked accommodations.**

What do you think of this plan:

Day 1 : Fly into Idaho Falls around 11 AM, rent car and drive to Jackson, stay night in Jackson?

- We should reach by 1:30/2 PM or so, can we do something that day?

Day 2 : Grand Tetons day, return back to Jackson to stay for the night?

- Jenny lake, short hike

Day 3 : Enter Yellowstone via south entrance

- west thumb, bridge bay, lake village up to sulfur cauldron, turn back towards old faithful, exit via west entrance and stay in West Yellowstone

Day 4 : Enter via west entrance, Madison, Norris, mammoth, tower Roosevelt, canyon village, back out via Norris, Madison and back to West Yellowstone, stay in West Yellowstone

Day 5 : Fly out of Idaho falls 1 PM, plenty of time to reach the airport and return the car

Thank you.

-CT

N. Idaho
Destination Expert
for Yellowstone National Park
Level Contributor
19,051 posts
109 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Short trip to Yellowstone/Grand Tetons mid-June

I think with your short time frame your spacing should work. West Yellowstone will position you well for Idaho Falls. It's about 2 hours.

I am guessing with the kids you don't want to have to change hotels in Yellowstone thus the 2 nights in West Yellowstone, and that's OK if that is what will work best for you all.