We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SF to Yosemite in 11 Dec need help

SG
Level Contributor
145 posts
Save Topic
SF to Yosemite in 11 Dec need help

Hi,

I intend to drive from SF to Yosemite NP on the 11 Dec for a overnight stay before driving towards Monterey on the next day.

I have a few concerns as it is my first time driving in winter.

Is there a high possiblity of snow or ice on road during that time of the year? If so, I may consider a day trip with a tour group from SF

instead.

What are the activities I can do for 1 day stay in Yosemite and which hotel do you recommend?

What is the distance and how long is the journey from Ysemite to Monetrey? I would like to know to plan what time to start my road trip.

Thank you.

Roseville...
Level Contributor
1,102 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: SF to Yosemite in 11 Dec need help

in December, yes you may find bad weather.

You can look up distances yourself on Google maps. Link:

http://maps.google.com/maps?hl=en&tab=wl

San Francisco...
Destination Expert
for San Francisco
Level Contributor
54,261 posts
149 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: SF to Yosemite in 11 Dec need help

If you are not on a smartphone or tablet, you should be able to read the top questions including the one -- do I need tire chains to visit in Winter.

www.nps.gov/yose/planyourvisit/winter.htm has info about the park in Winter and if you look at a few forum posts before and after your post you will see there are other questions just like yours.

Options to see Yosemite by tours from SF include Incredible Adventures or Extranomical among others. I would suggest an overnight instead of a 8 to 9 drive for a day trip.