We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quad Bikes Abroad

Travel Agent in...
Level Contributor
1 post
49 reviews
Save Topic
Quad Bikes Abroad

I am a travel agent working for the largest travel chain in the UK. If you are considering hiring a Quad Bike abroad please DO NOT! I was in Zante last year at the same time a Scottish lad called James was killed. I have also heard many horror stories from other destinations such as Malia, Ibiza, Faliraki etc.

Most insurance companies will not cover Quad Biking because it is too unsafe, no regulations or proper training needed to hire. On holiday I have seen many acts of stupidity by lads on Quads - all NOT wearing helmets. People doing wheelies, pulling out without looking at junctions, drinking alcohol (a vodka bottle no less!) and in Zante a guy with a broken leg resting it on the handle bars whilst drinking beer.

When selling holidays to groups of lads I always get asked about hiring bikes and I always tell them NO! I usually get laughed off and I know that many will still hire them in resort.

If you are going to go Quad biking (or hiring a scooter) please WEAR A HELMET and obey all the road rules as if you were at home, also check your insurance will cover the hire - it can cost many thousands of £'s to bring a body home or, if just injured, pay for treatment. Some companies will even do proper organised Quad tours so check them out. I know you may be trying to impress the girls, but you can impress them more by not being in abody bag!

So far I have been lucky. I do not want to be the travel agent that has organise the repatriation of a body because someone has been stupid enough not to follow common sense.

Thanks for reading and have a great SAFE holiday!

57 replies to this topic
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
214 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply