We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driving from Baltimore

United States
Level Contributor
39 posts
41 reviews
Save Topic
Driving from Baltimore

Greetings all,

I've seen the recommendations for people driving down from the Northeast to bypass 95 and go via Dover and Salisbury. If anyone from the Central MD area could comment on 95 vs the eastern shore route, I'd appreciate it. We're renting a home in Kitty Hawk from a co-worker of mine, looks like we are going during peak July/August.

Thanks

qsman

MD
Level Contributor
779 posts
24 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Driving from Baltimore

I've been traveling from Baltimore to the Banks for over 15 years. I would never choose the eastern shore as a 95 alternative, just to slow for me. There's a better alternative available. Take 695 to 97. Head south to 301 and look for the left hand turn onto 17 in Port Royal. Yes, 301 through 'til Waldorf is a pain because it's like York Rd, lots of traffic and stop lights, so get through there early. But once past Waldorf it isn't too bad. Warning, the 301 bridge from Maryland to Virginia is a fairly steep run (straight up and staight down and narrow) - if you haven't experienced it, it can rattle some drivers the first time over.