We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Getting around Santa Teresa

Which Santa Teresa hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Phoenix, Arizona
6 posts
Save Topic
Getting around Santa Teresa

Our countdown has begun - we're leaving for CR in less than a week! We're spending a few days in Santa Teresa at Canaima Chill House, which I am so excited about - I've been ogling that place for like two years!

Here's my question:

My understanding is that Santa Teresa is pretty spread out. To get the most out of exploring the town, we'd like to rent either bicycles or ATVs. My understanding is that ATV rental is something crazy like $70/day, is that true? Can anyone give some info on bicycle rental, what's the best place to go, prices, etc?

I know Canaima Chill House is at the top of a hill, but is the main road through Santa Teresa relatively flat? I'm in decent shape but I'm no Lance Armstrong and riding a bike up a bunch of hills isn't my idea of a relaxing vacation : ) I can deal with pushing it back up the hill to Canaima once or twice a day.

One last question - Any ballpark on how much a cab from Montezuma to Santa Teresa would run? The shuttle I priced wanted $45 and that's exorbitant - that's more than we're paying to go all the way from San Jose to Jaco! How about the bus? Schedule?

Thanks for your help in advance - we're so looking forward to this trip!

Atlanta
Destination Expert
for Jaco, Bocas Town
Level Contributor
3,965 posts
128 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Getting around Santa Teresa