We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Catching the bus to Koh Samet

W Yorks
Level Contributor
203 posts
12 reviews
Save Topic
Catching the bus to Koh Samet

Hi everyone

I am off to Koh Samet in the first week of January - it's my first time.

I was planning on catching the bus from Ekkamai but when I mentioned this to a friend she said she wouldn't catch the bus again due to a Lack of storage space for luggage and no comfort breaks and we would be better in a taxi (there will be 4 of us).

The lack of breaks doesn't bother me, and I tempted to still try the bus to experience it myself first hand to know one way or another for future trips. I've read RoverEngland's recent favourable report but I just wondered if anyone else had any opinions one way or another about bus vs taxi?

Many thanks

newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
10,787 posts
152 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: Catching the bus to Koh Samet

I've made the journey today, bus was fine, a 3 1/2 hour journey to the pier, and 30 min wait for the ferry, which takes 40mins to get to the island. Its the slowest ferry I think I've ever been on.:)

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 posts
27 reviews
Save Reply
12. Re: Catching the bus to Koh Samet