We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Local Currency or USD

Level Contributor
274 posts
17 reviews
Save Topic
Local Currency or USD

I have been travelling to the PV and Bucerias area for 10 years now. Normally my husband and I take USD with us, and while we are in Bucerias we use the bank machine to withdraw pesos if we need more spending money while we are there.

Yes I do know that LOCAL CURRENCY is always wanted, but at the same rate I know that the local people have always accepted USD.

I have heard from friends that have travelled to Mexico, both coasts......PV and Cancun, and people have said that the locals are not accepting USD like they were before. That alot of vendors and restaurants are requesting pesos. If this is the case then I will NOT bring USD. I will get pesos.

Anyone who has been in the Bucerias/Sayulita/Puerto Vallarta area lately....can you please share with me your experience.

I am actually a home based travel agent and there are a group of 12, my friends and I going to the RDC in 45 days. We need to make sure that we have the proper currency with us, and I am the person that needs to have this information.

Thank you so very much

happy travels and viva MEXICO

Vancouver BC
Destination Expert
for Vancouver
Level Contributor
9,907 posts
203 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: Local Currency or USD

Where do you live Mich? In BC we can have Pesos (any denominations) delivered by courier and paid for with a debit card. Couldn't be easier. http://www.vbce.ca/

Naperville, Illinois
Destination Expert
for Bucerias, Riviera Nayarit
Level Contributor
10,194 posts
40 reviews
Save Reply
12. Re: Local Currency or USD