We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trip report - Nendaz - focus on lifts.

Which Nendaz hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Macclesfield...
Level Contributor
5 posts
15 reviews
Save Topic
Trip report - Nendaz - focus on lifts.

I stayed with a group of friends (all good skiers) for a long weekend at the end of Feb 2012. We stayed in a hotel, which was comfortable and we enjoyed it very much (I have reviewed in the appropriate place). However I feel obliged to comment on the Nendaz lift system specifically and more widely on the 4 Valleys lift system.

I have been skiing for 20 years and skied with a group of guys who have been skiing as long or longer. The lift system in Nendaz took me back to the bad old days where lifts were slow, ill conceived and just very out dated.

The 4 valleys ski terrain is some of the best ski terrain you will find anywhere in the world in my opinion. We didn't have the best snow, but it was ok. With fresh snow the possibilities are incredible. The place is entirely let down by the appalling lift system and infrastructure that surrounds it.

Let me explain in more detail. N.B. If you want very limited skiing and are happy to stay in the Nendaz area itself then you will probably be fine. However this is an example of our experience trying to ski all that the 4 valleys had to offer:

Day 1:

- Gondola to the top of the Nendaz area (only lift out of town and a significant but not ridiculous queue).

- Long button lift to the cable car link - 10-15 minute queue

- Cable car to the top of the link down in to Siviez - 10-15 minute queue

- Start skiing down in to Siviez for the links to Verbier/the rest of the 4 valleys.

Time skiing at that point - maybe 5-10 minutes

Time from getting in the queue in Nendaz - about an hour and 20 minutes!!!

Day 2: