We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canadian Rockies Trip Report - 12days: 4 Sep - 15 Sep

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
4 posts
17 reviews
Save Topic
Canadian Rockies Trip Report - 12days: 4 Sep - 15 Sep

Okie dokie, I've posted some reviews before but this is my first time doing a trip report; hope I am doing it correctly via this forum...if not, please let me know!

I'm going to be as brief as possible, covering mostly the places we visited and how long we took. If you need details, just ask me and I'll try my best to respond to them.

Food: You can buy food and bring it in (as in, fly it in if you're from the States) but that would mean you'll have to declare them and therefore more troublesome, or you can just buy it in Calgary/Canmore/Banff. Best to get wraps, canned salmon/tuna etc (they have different flavours and therefore it won't be boring), there's canned chicken/chicken slices as well that last quite a few days. Bring along a small foldable cooler bag just in case, will be good especially when you buy fruits (nectarines, peaches, avocados, grape tomatoes etc).

Clothing: Bring for all 4 seasons! At night it can go below 5 degree celcius, in the day (when I went), it went up to 28 degree celcius!

Equipment: Camera, tripod, binoculars and hiking poles

Day 1 (4 Sep, Wed)

We flew in from NYC. Flight was at 8am from Newark with Air Cananda. We hopped onto cab at 515am and arrived at airport (from Manhattan) by 545am; morning traffic was very light, no worries at all.

We touched down at 1105am in Calgary, sorted out the luggage and the car (with Alamo, only 1 guy at the counter so once you collect your luggage, speed there!) and left the airport at 12noon.