We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

it should have been great.

southampton
Level Contributor
2 posts
12 reviews
Save Topic
it should have been great.

hi we have just returned from sol cayo guillermo,having been there 4 years ago, i was a bit dissapointed, this time, the food being my main issue,there was not a day when you could say the food was great,it was only warm,the plates was dirty,some of the food was bad,the bread rolls was not fresh,and there was always fly,s on the food,and as i work in the food industry i know as soon as a fly lands on food it is pooing and weeing to break the food down,all they need to do is cover alot of the products, but i can say the staff was very good and was always willing to help, so we had pizza and burgers for most of the two weeks because there is nothing else to eat, there are no other shops to get food from so really the main food area should have been amazing but it wasnt, also the pool area was not washed down ever, where the sunbeds were,so again fly,s were a big problem because drink was spilt which caused the fly,s the problems could so easy be solved, but the holiday companies need to get involved to get the changes done.

Newton Aycliffe...
Destination Expert
for Cuba, Rafael Freyre, Guardalavaca, Holguin
Level Contributor
99,754 posts
57 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: it should have been great.

Thomas Cook carry out regular inspections and if things aren't right or breach Health and Safety regulations they will stop selling the hotel or close down an offending kitchen or restaurant. I could name two Cuban hotels that Thomas Cook no longer fly to because they do not consider them up to standard.

Alberta
Level Contributor
4,591 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: it should have been great.

fantasticSouthampton