We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clothing rental cost?

Which Saariselka hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
London, United...
Level Contributor
419 posts
168 reviews
Save Topic
Clothing rental cost?

I'm travelling independently having booked at the last minute & wondered what the score was re clothes. I realise that if I do excursions the companies will lend me extra clothing but will standard skiing kit be sufficiently warm (if layered) for wandering around town and for aurora watching (if the conditions permit)? I'm a keen photographer so I am likely to want to be out for as long possible. Or should I consider renting extra clothes in the resort and if so, how much is that likely to cost? Is there anything extra I should buy in the UK (I already have hats, scarves, gloves, ski trousers/jacket) before I go? I had planned to wear hiking boots with two layers of socks. Is that sufficient?

I'd be grateful for any tips you could give me. Thanks

Arsy, France
Level Contributor
3,292 posts
77 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Clothing rental cost?

your ski stuff will be fine - have a base, mid and outer layer, hats, gloves, scarf etc, warm boots and maybe an additional mid-layer if you are going to be out and about

www.lapland.fruitbandit.com will tell you what you need to take

yorkshire
Level Contributor
124 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Clothing rental cost?

It was -28c and we had base layer micro fleece and ski coat and snow boots. head balaclava. I would consider hotties hand warmers and mittens they are warmer than gloves if you are to sit outside for long periods. I had hiking boots and they would not be suitable in my opinion if it drops below -20c which it did often. I bought mine Mountain warehouse extreme boots they were great .