We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mozzies ?

birmingham
Level Contributor
766 posts
29 reviews
Save Topic
Mozzies ?

I've read a lot on here about the problems with mozzies , are they more prevalent in Corfu than the rest of Greece? This is my first time to Sidari, have been to Rhodes and Kefalonia and didn't have any problems, and generally don't get bitten but just wondered if the problem was worse in Corfu because of the vegetation on the island?

We are going on 4th September I'm so looking forward it, especially after all the info I have gained from this forum, which I have to say is the friendliest forum I've ever been on.

Kate

Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
206 posts
24 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Mozzies ?

I'm a mozzie magnet Kate! l've been here 8 nights so far & have 5 bites. l've been using Avon skin so soft dry oil every night. Not sure if that's helping but l've had more bites than this in Rhodes, Turkey and Tunisia. Hope this is some indication. All in all, it's not been as bad (so far) as l anticipated.

Cathie.

Bolton
Destination Expert
for Sidari
Level Contributor
4,774 posts
75 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Mozzies ?

Hi Cliftonkate - mozzies are more prevalent on the island due to it's climate, known for being the rainiest of the islands and due to the position etc makes it a haven for those little blighters.

September they will still be out in force - tips use the air con especially if it's still very warm in the evenings, spray your room at dusk and close all windows doors etc. Go armed with as much protection or the protection that suits you best, all kinds of remedies to keep the pesky little things at bay so my advice is be prepared.

We were over in June and they didn't seem too bad to be honest I have known far worse years to tell you the truth x