We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap but excellent pilots.”
Review of Loganair


Reviewed 16 January 2019

These compact Saab planes have actually been refitted so the drop-down tray is minuscule, but there is reasonable legroom. Don't expect to get an ordinary sized cabin bag in the overhead lockers - there is minimal height - so a laptop bag is about as wide as will go in. What I always look forward to is the in-flight free refreshments: tea/coffee/water/orange juice plus a selection of biscuits [including Caramel Wafers]. When the weather is clement, the views of Orkney are spectacular! If you expect in-flight entertainment on this short hop - then look out of the window!
Security at Kirkwall Airport is very strict - gentlemen should expect to have to remove trouser belts and shoes, for instance!
There's no point in paying for Priority Boarding as the plane only has 12 rows of 3 seats [A, C & D as B is effectively the narrow aisle].

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Josephine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2019

All 4 flights left on time and arrived early and the service was very good and only cost the same as the major airlines. Almost like catching a bus once the airport security is out of the way.

Date of travel: December 2018
Thank MichaelE4069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

Far too expensive , all through the year , for such a short flight some times under an hour it just baffles me why they charge so much , it’s no wonder every time I fly there is empty seats .

Date of travel: January 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
Thank Helybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesH9541, Customer Relations at Loganair, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2019

We are sorry you feel this way about our service. With the cost of two pilots on our aircraft, two engines to overhaul and having to contend with fuel prices in the Islands being up to 3 times more than on the mainland combined with a higher risk of weather disruption it’s not hard to see how the costs add up.

That’s before you consider that airlines traveling transatlantic can fly their aircraft for 12-16 hours every day – often, when the airports to which we fly are closed.

All Loganair fares also include checked baggage fees, free seat allocation and complimentary on board service where you potentially pay a lot more for this with another carrier. We believe that we offer the best value possible given the major constraints we face.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2018

I travel on this route fairly frequently and have to commend the staff for their professionalism and ability to instil faith during some “bumpy rides”.
Crew both cabin, ground and pilots are cheery and informative. I know there are cancellations etc and late arrivals at times but it is not always easy to predict exact weather conditions. My only comment is the price, it is prohibitive for more than one or two flights a year unless you have the Island Discount Scheme. However in terms of planes, crew etc .....well done.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
2  Thank Doreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

Excellent short flight across the North Sea. A clear sky meant beautiful views flying into Bergen. Service pleasant. Hold baggage included in the price as is a snack and drink.

Date of travel: October 2018
1  Thank uphillcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC