We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ”
Review of Alitalia


Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We had booked various flights with Alitalia in January (flying in August) Rome to Venice, Genoa to Rome, Rome to Naples, Naples to Sicily and Sicily to Rome. Only to hear in June the airline had gone into administration. So was slightly concerned. All flights left on time and in fact arrived minimum 20 to 30 minutes ahead of scheduled arrival. Bags were at the carousel in a matter of minutes. Brilliant - our flights were very reasonably priced and service was great, would definitely fly with them in the future.

Date of travel: August 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank Odette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,068 - 2,072 of 15,274 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Usuallly Alitalia gets bad reviews.in this case thumbs up.clean planes,punctuality,good in flight entertainment,decent leg room for an economy Seat.my tip:check the plane before buying the ticket and when possibile choose Airbus 330 over Boeing 777:the first has a less sardine- packed configuration

Date of travel: August 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank Fabrizio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Had to pay €40 for my luggage as Alitalia website at the time I and my boyfriend purchased our ticket (6month ago) failed to notify us we had the so called 'light fare' ONLY on the outbound flight! How can you have a check in luggage on the return only! Ridiculous!
€80 for 2 bags to check in is a stealer and worse than Ryanair or EasyJet!
Even when we received the email from Alitalia that we could do our check in online 24hrs prior our flight, we were not notify of our bag allowance!
On arrival at Palermo my luggage was broken and complained and wasted my time for nothing as apparently Alitalia only pays damage for a completely 'destroyed' luggage! Unbelievable!
All our flights had a schedule change and we had to rush to our connecting flight on the way to Palermo and wait 2hrs in Milan Linate(worse airport in Italy) on the way back to Heathrow!
I will NEVER FLY ALITALIA again!
I am about to file a big complain!

Date of travel: August 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
Thank 635danielat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This flight was 9 and 1/2 hours
The plane was old and our tv monitors didn't work so we couldn't watch movies
the games were so old I just gave up trying to use them as a distraction
Would not consider flying Alitalia again

Date of travel: July 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank HappyTraveler48572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We hope a long life for Alitalia, even if not guaranteed...
The crew members are always nice and smiling.
The only real shame is the 'salty' or 'sweet' snacks. It takes more energy to open the small package than eating the 4 (four) small biscuits inside...last year they where 5...

Date of travel: June 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC