We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”
Review of American Airlines


Reviewed 20 November 2018

We recently flew from Los Angeles to London and weren't very impressed with American Airlines. Firstly, in the airport the whole check-in process was long and confusing. The staff were unhelpful and didn't seem to know what was going on themselves. Terminal 4 (which seemed to only be for American Airlines) was dreadful, way too small for the number of people. The number of places to eat were severely limited and way over priced. We walked to the nearby terminal which had loads of shops and restaurants.

The plane itself was fairly cramped and this showed, especially after our outbound flight was British Airways which was much better. The food on the flight was average. We were given complimentary drinks occasionally but no snacks, which I would have expected for an 11 hour flight.

Would likely avoid AA in future.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank mcglassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,761 - 2,765 of 51,257 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2018

Traveled first class on first leg of the trip using award miles and economy the 2nd leg. Only frustrating part of using award miles is having to wait to be confirmed just hours before your flight.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Gisele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2018 via mobile

It wasn't a bad flight. The journey was smooth, nice entertainment and food. This is my second time flying AA and will definitely do again.

Date of travel: November 2018
Thank Olori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2018

Efficient, on time, and they got me where I needed to go with no drama. They delivered on exactly the service I paid for.

Date of travel: September 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Mobile824558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2018

my luggage was sent on another flight which was a delayed flight from several hours before. While both flights were heading to the same destination my bags were originally ticket in Dallas so there should not have been any confusion with flight numbers.
Lost bag department in Albany only moderately helpful. Was told to wait since the delayed flight was coming in shortly but because that flight was delayed it did not have a gate to go to. I then elected to have my bag delivered to my home which was again handled poorly. The company delivered it at 12:30 am, left it on my front steps in freezing and snowy weather without getting a signature. All around very poor customer service.

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank winedown186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC