We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two flights, two standards”
Review of Virgin Atlantic Airways


Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Flight out, VS3 LHR to JFK, brilliant, loads of leg room, decent seats, good attentive staff. One of the flight attendants though poured a gin with half a cup of gin, but strong that one, no complaint though.

Landed about an hour early flying out, virgin staff unloaded the baggage belt while we all queued to get through USA security. All good.

Coming home, VS4, different plane, seat rows had 10 numbers missing which caught us out a bit. Much more cramped experience, which is a shame when that's the night flight and you could have done with a bit more room to try and sleep.

Would definitely repeat the route using virgin if we ever go again. It's just a shame that there's not a bit more consistency between aircraft with seat pitch...

Date of travel: November 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
1  Thank Raymondson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 267 of 11,340 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had high expectations for this airline based on worth of mouth but was disappointed. The choice of entertainment was very poor with old screens, volume button difficult to use. The headphones were very crackly. This was a 7 hr flight so this element was disappointing. The staff were lovely. The food was OK not great but OK. our original start off point was Dublin but we couldn't check in online to the virgin Media connecting flight. On our return we still couldn't check in online from dubai. This left us with poor seats as we were nearly last to check in. I think this flight needs an upgrade as it is competing with newer aircrafts on this flight path.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
1  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've flown with many airlines and have to say Virgin are definitely up there with the best! The air hostesses worked tirelessly from the start of the flight right to the end serving and helping always with a smile on their face. There was someone across from us feeling unwell and the staff made sure there was someone with them until they felt better. Definitely recommend.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
1  Thank Wanttoseetheworld85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The flights to and from Barbados were excellent, a slight delay leaving LGW due to a technical fault but then we were on our way. we were looked after extremely well and were well attended throughout. The toilets were kept clean and supplied and the Staff remained cheerful at all times. Our return flight was exceptionally good and the team worked liked clockwork. a perfect start and finish to our holiday.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
2  Thank Kentjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Flying on Christmas Day in the past has been hit and miss, sometimes the staff are great other times grumpy.
this trip they were great, friendly happy and full of the Christmas spirit.
it could be there we only 85 passengers on board and from what I gather 20 of them were friends and family flights.
Christmas dinner at 38,000 ft is quite unique, not great though the highlight was the hard Brussel sprouts - I do like hard sprouts though. Day time flight so no sleep good movies and Christmas day extended by 5 hours what more could you want. Return flight was rammed so for £55.00 each we upgraded to more leg room seat, well worth it - slept all the way home.

Date of travel: December 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, films)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
1  Thank TonyM0758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC