We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility in the Midlands!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Main bedroom, which leads out onto wooden deck
Main bedroom has queen size bed with electric blanket
Main bedroom with built in cupboards
Wooden deck from the main bedroom overlooking the trout stocked Mavela Dam
Main bedroom en-suite bathroom with shower and toilet. Heated towel rail for added comfort.
Second bedroom overlooking garden
Second bedroom has queen size bed, electric blankets, fan and hairdryer
Kids room with bunk bed suitable for 2 kids
The loft or kids room has a queen size bed and a bunk bed.
Queen size bed in the kids room
The second bathroom which is upstairs has a large walk in shower and toilet.
Dining room with wood burning fireplace (a bundle of firewood is included each morning)
Fully equipped modern self catering kitchen with microwave, gas stove top and electric oven
Large fully equipped self-catering kitchen, includes fridge freezer, dish washer and washing machine
Verandah with Weber braai or grill (please bring your own charcoal)
Guest holding her trophy trout!
View of Mavela Dam, Copperleigh Trout Cottage on far left hand side
Sheep being fed
Kids enjoy interacting with the lambs (seasonal), and other farmyard animals.
Wintry scene of Inhlosane Mountain, a popular hike can be accessed from only a few mins drive away.
Grey Crowned Cranes photographed standing in Mavela Dam when water is low
The Wattled Crane is one of the five critically endangered bird species in South Africa
Grey Heron catching frogs
Admiring the sunset over Mavela dam
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dargle, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
phyllis37...
2 reviews
“Tranquility in the Midlands!”
Reviewed 1 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Accommodation absolutely flawless! The showers and the fireplace was my son's favourite!

Trophy fish to be caught for sure....lost three bruisers....

An interesting encounter with a bull....we will be back!

Thanks to Ashley and his family fr making us feel very welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2018
Thanks so much Phyllis for taking the time to review our cottage and farm! I didn't hear the story of the bull whilst you were here...did you go up to him and give him an apple and a pat perhaps?!

Looking forward to you all returning again soon!

Kind Regards

Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charmaine...
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Perfect holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 26 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This was our second time staying at Copperleigh Trout Cottage and once again, we werent disappointed. The cottage and surrounds are beautiful and just what we needed to relax and unwind!

Ashley, Alvera and David and phenominal hosts and made us feel like part of the family! Our family look forward to many more wonderful holidays at Copperleigh Trout Cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2018
Thanks so much Charmaine. We always look forward to hosting you and Noa', and you are definitely part of the Copperleigh family now! Looking forward to your next trip, oh, and the 5 chickens are now very happy and giving eggs for guests too!

Regards

Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian J
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful and can't wait to get back!”
Reviewed 20 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Big trophy trout in the dam on the cottages doorstep, can't ask for more! Working farm with great conditioned animals. The cottage is equipped with everything. Really friendly hosts!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2018
Thanks so much for your review & rating of our cottage Brian, and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon so you can catch more of those big trophy trout - perhaps make use of our new Nessy "Legend Kayaks" next time!

Kind Regards

Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnaN8
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Copperleigh trout cottage”
Reviewed 12 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Stunning cottage. Peaceful and beautiful. Great location. View over the valley were very pretty. Cottage are kitted out with everything you might need.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2018
Thank you so much once again for choosing to come and stay with us at Copperleigh Trout Cottage Marna, we hope you shall be back with the family again soon!

Kind Regards

Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hayleymap...
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Tranquility at it’s best”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Our stay at Copperleigh trout cottage was nothing short of amazing! A wonderful, peaceful and relaxing getaway. Beautiful scenery; from the views of Mavela dam, to lambs in the field, cows grazing and the chirping birds each breaking morning. Immaculate cottage, cosy and well equipped with all that you need, making it a home away from home. We will definitely be back.
Hayley & Reece

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
Hi Hayley & Reece!

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate our cottage. I am thrilled to hear that you both had an amazing time here on the farm, and we really look forward to hosting you both (as well as the extended family!) again sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazenbys
Pinetown
2 reviews
“Stunning cottage on a beautiful farm overlooking dam”
Reviewed 1 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This accommodation has to be one of the best destinations in the Midlands at which we have had the privilege to stay. The area is very well known to us and we have stayed at many self catering cottages but Copperleigh Trout cottage exceeded our expectations. Spotless and beautifully decorated we were very impressed with the attention to detail. Movies ,books, board games and the latest country and outdoor magazines are perfect for those rainy days when one cannot experience the luxury of exploring the sheep and cattle farm. Thank you Ashley for sharing your home with us and for chatting to us about the farm activities. It was a wonderful weekend and we most certainly will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
Thank you so much Reg & Janice for your wonderful review of our cottage! We really enjoyed having you to stay with us on the farm, and really look forward to hosting you again in the future - perhaps for the 30th wedding anniversary next year?!

Kind Regards

Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaretr...
Edenvale, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect cottage for relaxation and rest.”
Reviewed 11 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

What a beautiful setting Copperleigh Trout Cottage has. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Cottage is fully equipped, comfortable and very clean. Very tranquil, we had a really relaxed stay. Ashley is an excellent host and made sure everything was in order for us. I will definitely go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cottage Margaret. We shall continue to do our best to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and comfortable stay whilst here on our farm. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Kind Regards

Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing