We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful setting, very well equipped cottage...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of cottage - wooden deck on top from main bedroom and verandah downstairs. Can view Mavela Dam
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage - wooden deck on top from main bedroom and verandah downstairs. Can view Mavela Dam
There is a large garden to relax in or for kids to play Private entrance and double electric garage make it easy to secure your vehicles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Front of cottage - wooden deck on top from main bedroom and verandah downstairs. Can view Mavela Dam
There is a large garden to relax in or for kids to play
Private entrance and double electric garage make it easy to secure your vehicles
Main bedroom, which leads out onto wooden deck. Queen size bed.
Main bedroom has queen size bed with electric blanket. Ceiling fan and hairdryer provided.
Main bedroom with built in cupboards
Wooden deck from the main bedroom overlooking the trout stocked Mavela Dam
Main bedroom en-suite bathroom with shower and toilet. Heated towel rail & complimentary soaps.
Second bedroom overlooking garden
Second bedroom has queen size bed, electric blankets, fan and hairdryer
2nd bedroom
Kids room with bunk bed suitable for 2 kids
The loft or kids room has a queen size bed and a bunk bed.
Queen size bed in the kids room
The second bathroom which is upstairs has a large walk in shower and toilet.
Lounge with comfy sofas, large movie collection, DSTV Premium satellite service, complimentary WiFi.
Dining room with wood burning fireplace (the bundle of firewood is replaced each morning).
Fully equipped modern self catering kitchen with microwave, gas stove top and electric oven
Large modern kitchen, includes fridge freezer, dish washer and washing machine
Verandah with Weber braai or grill (please bring your own charcoal & firelighters)
Copperleigh Trout Cottage on the left, main farm house on right so we are close by & available
Guest holding her trophy trout!
Trout stocked Mavela Dam, cottage on far left hand side. Inhlosane Mountain in the background.
Dohne Merino sheep being fed during the afternoon.
Kids enjoy interacting with the lambs (seasonal), and other farmyard animals.
Angus/Brangus red cattle which are located on the farm.
Pepper & Flip-Flop can be visited
Wintry scene of Inhlosane Mountain, a popular hike can be accessed from only a few mins drive away.
Grey Heron catching frogs
Grey Crowned Cranes photographed standing in Mavela Dam when water is low
Some kayaks are provided at no extra charge for guests to use. Paddles and life jackets available.
Admiring the sunset over Mavela dam whilst sitting on one of the kayaks.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dargle, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
margaretr...
Edenvale, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful setting, very well equipped cottage. You don't need to take anything extra just your food”
Reviewed 18 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

My husband and I love Copperleigh Cottage. We find the tranquil setting very relaxing. My husband is able to do some fly fishing and I can just relax with a book on the verandah. We will definitely book again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2018
Thank you both for coming to spend time at Copperleigh Trout Cottage once again Margaret. I trust Mark caught some nice trout during his time out on Mavela Dam, and I'm sure you found a few books to read with the collection that is provided in the cottage. We really look forward to hosting you again soon - hopefully your friends will be able to make it then!

Ashley Crookes
Manager
Copperleigh Trout Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phyllis37...
2 reviews
“Tranquility in the Midlands!”
Reviewed 1 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Accommodation absolutely flawless! The showers and the fireplace was my son's favourite!

Trophy fish to be caught for sure....lost three bruisers....

An interesting encounter with a bull....we will be back!

Thanks to Ashley and his family fr making us feel very welcome.

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2018
Thanks so much Phyllis for taking the time to review our cottage and farm! I didn't hear the story of the bull whilst you were here...did you go up to him and give him an apple and a pat perhaps?!

Looking forward to you all returning again soon!

Kind Regards

Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charmaine...
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Perfect holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 26 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This was our second time staying at Copperleigh Trout Cottage and once again, we werent disappointed. The cottage and surrounds are beautiful and just what we needed to relax and unwind!

Ashley, Alvera and David and phenominal hosts and made us feel like part of the family! Our family look forward to many more wonderful holidays at Copperleigh Trout Cottage.

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2018
Thanks so much Charmaine. We always look forward to hosting you and Noa', and you are definitely part of the Copperleigh family now! Looking forward to your next trip, oh, and the 5 chickens are now very happy and giving eggs for guests too!

Regards

Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian J
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful and can't wait to get back!”
Reviewed 20 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Big trophy trout in the dam on the cottages doorstep, can't ask for more! Working farm with great conditioned animals. The cottage is equipped with everything. Really friendly hosts!

Date of stay: July 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2018
Thanks so much for your review & rating of our cottage Brian, and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back soon so you can catch more of those big trophy trout - perhaps make use of our new Nessy "Legend Kayaks" next time!

Kind Regards

Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarnaN8
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Copperleigh trout cottage”
Reviewed 12 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Stunning cottage. Peaceful and beautiful. Great location. View over the valley were very pretty. Cottage are kitted out with everything you might need.

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2018
Thank you so much once again for choosing to come and stay with us at Copperleigh Trout Cottage Marna, we hope you shall be back with the family again soon!

Kind Regards

Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hayleymap...
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Tranquility at it’s best”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Our stay at Copperleigh trout cottage was nothing short of amazing! A wonderful, peaceful and relaxing getaway. Beautiful scenery; from the views of Mavela dam, to lambs in the field, cows grazing and the chirping birds each breaking morning. Immaculate cottage, cosy and well equipped with all that you need, making it a home away from home. We will definitely be back.
Hayley & Reece

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
Hi Hayley & Reece!

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate our cottage. I am thrilled to hear that you both had an amazing time here on the farm, and we really look forward to hosting you both (as well as the extended family!) again sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazenbys
Pinetown
2 reviews
“Stunning cottage on a beautiful farm overlooking dam”
Reviewed 1 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This accommodation has to be one of the best destinations in the Midlands at which we have had the privilege to stay. The area is very well known to us and we have stayed at many self catering cottages but Copperleigh Trout cottage exceeded our expectations. Spotless and beautifully decorated we were very impressed with the attention to detail. Movies ,books, board games and the latest country and outdoor magazines are perfect for those rainy days when one cannot experience the luxury of exploring the sheep and cattle farm. Thank you Ashley for sharing your home with us and for chatting to us about the farm activities. It was a wonderful weekend and we most certainly will be back.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
Thank you so much Reg & Janice for your wonderful review of our cottage! We really enjoyed having you to stay with us on the farm, and really look forward to hosting you again in the future - perhaps for the 30th wedding anniversary next year?!

Kind Regards

Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing