We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEWLY BUILT HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Qantati

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Putre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Qantati
Ranked #1 of 1 Putre B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A newly built hotel with 10 rooms set round a small garden. The reception/lounge/dining area is large and pleasant The bedrooms are basic but fairly large, also the bathroom. A simple Chilean breakfast is served. My one criticism of this hotel is the duvet/quilt provided had no cover. This is really unhygenic and not very pleasant to sleep under. Not a big ask to have a clean cover for each guest.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMS2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

Putre lies just below the Altiplano an is slightly off the beaten track but it is worth making the detour. The main agricultural activity is growing alfalfa both for winter fodder and sale. It is grown on irrrigated terraces but from the look of abandoned terraces, It seems that the activity is declining.

The hotel lies at the bottom of the town but it is only 300 metres of so to the centre where there a number of modest restaurants. The hotel is basic but clean, comfortable and the rooms of a decent size. The central heating comes on at 6pm and the sun sets at 7.30 so the room nicely warmed by the time the temperatire drops; which it does quickly at sunset. The bed had a very good duvet and nights were comfortable. The shower worked well.

There is no TV, telephone or (horror) wi-fi but there are humming birds. There were four pairs of green-backed firecrowns nesting under the eaves and giving entertaining displays in the garden in front of the room. The only problem is that according to my bird book this breed only lives below 2,000 metres. I can only assume that these humming birds don't read.

Breakfast is good with decent fresh coffee (a rarety in Chile), fresh fruit, ham and cheese all presided over by Jorge who smiles and speaks almost no English. He seemed to be the general factotum and was hanging out the washing as we left.

Room Tip: Rooms 1,2 and 3 face west overlooking the modest garden and get the first rays of morning sun on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oldfeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

A small hotel at the edge of Putre. Basic rooms, but a very good breakfast: fresh fruit salad. 3.500 mtrs high, so you could order coca tea. Nights were cold, but rooms were warm.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lieuwe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This small hotel, on the edge of the small town of Putre, was our final stay at the end of our Chilean trip, and was thoroughly enjoyable. We were part of a group of 14, and noone mentioned any sign of earthquake damage (mentioned in an earlier review). The rooms were spacious, clean and warm, hot water was reliable, and the breakfast room/lounge was large and pleasant, with a big fireplace for the winter. Putre is at 3,500m, so not surprisingly the nights are cold; but we were cosy and comfortable. Breakfast included white and wholemeal bread/toast, and fresh fruit salad - definitely above average compared with other breakfasts in Chile! Overall this hotel was definitely better than it looks from across the valley, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneBNorfolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Hotel Q'antati is a nice cozy little hotel about a 15 min walk outside of Putre. Hotel was clean, but the rooms had not been repaired from the earthquake this summer; large cracks, missing plaster, etc. Has a very nice garden/courtyard and free breakfast. We got eggs one morning, otherwise it was Chilean standard of cheese and ham + toast and coffee/tea. While the rooms are heated, expect to wear your long underwear anyway as it gets cold at night. Don't expect any English from the staff or help from the tourist information center in town. Lady at the desk couldn't find restaurants in town on a map, and understated the drive from Putre to Colchane (2 hours vs an actual ~4).
They do have a hose and stand to make refilling your gas tank easier.
Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms 10-7 have valley views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obiwan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gherardino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoachimG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Putre hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Las Vicunas
Hotel Las Vicunas
#7 of 8 in Putre
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Terrace Lodge & Tours
0.4 mi away
Vientos del Altiplano
Vientos del Altiplano
#2 of 8 in Putre
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Cali
Hostal Cali
#6 of 8 in Putre
17 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal Pachamama
Hostal Pachamama
#3 of 8 in Putre
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Casa Cumbre Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Qantati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Qantati

Address: 208 Huela, Putre, Chile
Region: Chile > Arica and Parinacota Region > Putre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Putre
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Qantati 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing