We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Maison de Rocbaron
Ranked #1 of 5 Rocbaron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Having eventually discovered La Maison de Rocbaron, after accidentally driving the wrong way down a one way street, we were warmly greeted by Guy and Jeanne. Their home has character and is charmingly furnished and decorated. Unfortunately our stay only covered one evening when they offered dinner, because that was a memorable experience with perfectly cooked courses (mainly fish), served with style by candle light in their garden, and accompanied with deliciously well chosen wines. After a long drive down through France, we thoroughly enjoyed a first day relaxing by their large and well designed pool area. The garden is very cleverly designed. Though actually not large, it gives every impression of being very secluded, quiet and wooded. The other guests provided interesting and cosmopolitan conversation from several very different national backgrounds at breakfast and during the evening meal.

For the other evenings, we accepted Guy's recommendations for nearby restaurants. We did not enjoy a very small local cafe restaurant, not because of the food, which was adequate, but because of the extremely brusque (English understatement) attitude of the two women who ran it - and in that we were joined by two other guests of a different nationality who went on the same night and were equally disappointed for the same reason. But other recommendations were quite acceptable, though they in no way matched the meal we had at La Maison itself.

We found it a very well situated location for contrasting tours. The coast, with its beaches and towns is within an hour. Our best day in this direction was a trip to the island of Port Cros. Other guests had good days in Marseilles and Avignon (for example). Driving north, we loved the small town of Cotignac, with its elegant main street and square and enticing galleries, and the spectacular drive along the Gorges du Verdon.

This property is run with great care, charm and professionalism. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halzephron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

B & B La Maison de Rocbaron was a fabulous stay in the Provence. Guy and Jeanne are gracious hosts.They made us feel like we were visiting old friends. From the delicious food to the nicely decorated interior and exterior to the manicured yard, everything was perfect! We enjoyed every minute of it!

Room Tip: Request the private balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The 5 of us had a lovely stay with Guy and Jeanne. The house and gardens are stunning, the rooms are full of charm and very spacious, bathrooms are very good too. The place is very clean and decorated with taste. Guy and Jeanne are lovely hosts, they know how to make you feel welcome and provide you all the advice you need to explore the area but they remain discreet at the same time which is very much appreciated. The quality of the breakfast and "table d'hotes" is impressive, you can choose from an array of local and homemade products and Jeanne is a wonderful cook. The village of Rocbaron is very quiet however if you're prepared to drive and explore the region you're less than 1hr drive from the coast and many places of interests. If you want some piece and quiet you can also lounge by the pool and stay in to enjoy the sun and tranquility of the place. Overall this B&B is extremely good value for money and I would recommend anyone to go there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had a lovely four days with Guy and Jeanne. The room was lovely, clean and spacious (we were in the Suite Eugene, which was at the top of the house). The gardens were wonderful and the pool great to relax by, though absolutely freezing at the very start of June! Guy and Jeanne were incredibly friendly, had excellent restaurant recommendations and good suggestions for activities.

The host table in particular was a big highlight - Jeanne's cooking was excellent and the company from the other guests was also great. Breakfast is lovely - a big continental spread, outside if the weather is good.

All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Rocbaron is a small and uninteresting place, but next to the Mairie, there is a real heaven on earth. Guy and Jeanne have been running the place for nine years with the utmost dedication and attention to the tiniest details. The rooms are wonderfully decorated, with a mixture of top-class convenience and local flavour. Every room has its personal touch and is totally different from the other. In the huge room we stayed in, Jeanne has put her own wedding gown on a dummy. The wonderful swimming pool is surrounded by trees and bushes. There are sofas and chairs in the garden for reading and chatting. Tranquility at its utmost.,

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KorenNegev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Relax, you have just found where you are going to stay this time, and every other time you visit the south of France. This was by far the best B&B I have ever stayed at!

To start with Rocbaron is located very conveniently in a sleepy town rough equidistant from most sightseeing locations. The owners, Guy and Jeanne, not only are they wonderful people, but they have an encyclopedic knowledge of the best places to go, restaurants to visit, and are more than happy to help you plan out your days while you are there.

The B&B itself is beautifully decorated as a quintessential French country house; each room is tastefully decorated with art and antiques, and everything that you want to be modern is (fantastic shower, comfy bed, etc)! We stayed in Suite Honorine which has a private balcony and definitely worth booking if you can.

The owners seem to have struck a very appropriate balance between being around when you need them, and disappear when you want peace and privacy. Not all B&Bs get this right.

On a personal note while I was there with my wife, we unfortunately were robbed in Cassis and had our passports and credit cards taken. The owners were so supportive and helpful with what to do and even letting us use their phone. It made the whole ordeal much easier as we didn't feel alone in a foreign country- we were staying with friends!

Almost every other couple that were also staying there had been before, which I think is a pretty good sign! My wife is a crazy researcher and I'm so happy she put the time in and found this gem! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Mid April stay of just a few nights but Guy and Jeanne made us so welcome we felt like we'd been there longer. As others have said its a beautiful house, great rooms, in a small village which is about an hour from tourist spots such as Cassis and St Tropez by car. But the driving is easy and pleasant at this time of year at least and its great to get away from the tourist areas. We had a wonderful evening meal and great breakfasts with Guy's home made bread which is epic. Really lovely place, lovely people and a great start to our holiday.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ralyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocbaron
12.2 mi away
B&B Maison Bertine
B&B Maison Bertine
#1 of 7 in Tourves
86 reviews
14.5 mi away
Le Clos Geraldy
Le Clos Geraldy
#1 of 10 in Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume
204 reviews
16.4 mi away
Domaine Saint Dominique
Domaine Saint Dominique
#1 of 2 in Seillons-Source-d'Argens
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Valeriane
Villa Valeriane
#3 of 5 in Rocbaron
4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de Rocbaron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Rocbaron

Address: 3 rue Saint Sauveur, 83136 Rocbaron, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Rocbaron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rocbaron
Price Range: £111 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old shepherd's house dating back to the 19th century. Ideally located to visit the Provence and French Riviera. Large and comfortable rooms.Air-conditioning. Free Wifi. Scenic pool, shaded garden, secure parking lot. Family dining "table d'hôtes". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Maison de Rocbaron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing