We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bachuil Country House
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband, myself and two friends have been visiting Isle of Lismore for more than 20years for our holidays in the month of August. We have stopped in The Manse, a farm and numerous other holiday lets on the island.
Our latest find has been the Bachuil with Niall and Anita, the perfect hosts.
So glad we were able to spend a few days and experience such a comfortable stay.
As this property is not advertised as a hotel but a B&B I have to say the comfort of the lovely beds the tasty breakfast and the cleanliness of the rooms made the stay certainly as good as any 4 star hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

We are very glad to have seen you back on the Isle of Lismore and I was thrilled that one of you had been to my 21st birthday party a few years ago - the unkind might say a few decades. Hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our stay of five nights at Bachuil Country House, on the Isle of Lios-mor was an experience which we will cherish and remember for years to come.

Niall and Anita are excellent hosts, welcoming and hospitable, having an infectious enthusiasm for the Island of Lismore, together with a great deal of interesting information and knowledge of the history of the island to share with their guests. Posie ( canis domesticus ), provides yet another friendly dimension to staying at Bachuil House.

Our room was very comfortable, especially the bed, equipped with a memory-foam(tm) mattress.

Breakfasts were definitely superior, one must not be put off if Niall suggests trying the
' Compost ' for breakfast, as it is in fact, a fruit compote, a delicious specialty of Anita.

During the last evening of our stay we enjoyed a fine evening meal, in the company of two other guests and our hosts, the ambiance being that of a friendly family evening dinner party.

During our stay we walked a fair proportion of the roads, tracks and footpaths of the island and enjoyed this very much. The Lismore Heritage Museum provides much interesting information and sensibly priced food, the museum / cafe has become a social centre for the island.

Anita and Niall could not have been more welcoming or helpful to us, we really enjoyed their company.

As one drives into the tree lined driveway of the house, one can see upon the house name board, 4 AA stars, we would suggest that 5 stars would be quite applicable.

Thank you, J and D.

Room Tip: Very tranquil location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN_C027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for your kind comments even if you are stealing my fun regarding the compost!

Thank you for the feadback you gave me on my draft walking guide. In retrospect I think you were very lucky with the weather as after you left I think it was far too hot to walk ten miles a day.

I do hope that you made some interesting contacts on the ham radio.

These reviews and feedback mean a great deal to us and I think that they give potential guests a flavour of what we offer. It certainly is different!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have been going to the beautiful island of Lismore for many years, and we like to try out new places to stay on the island as they emerge. This, then, is a review of Bachuil Country House and not the island itself, which is already dear to us and has been covered in earlier reviews.

Our interesting and agreeably eccentric hosts at Bachuil were genuinely concerned about our enjoyment of our stay, and we felt like we were visiting extended family rather than staying at a B&B. Niall and Anita kept us entertained with provocative and intelligent conversations covering quite a breadth of topics during most of the evenings of our stay. We had the opportunity to meet some of the other residents on the island, and Niall and Anita even set up table tennis equipment extracted from deep in their barn when we expressed a simple interest - both of our hosts proved excellent competition! The food, as has already been noted, was superb, negotiable, and catered well to our tastes. Those who wish a more independent and anonymous experience could no doubt be accommodated if this is expressly requested, but we were treated like family guests, and genial and energetic hospitality is clearly the default at Bachuil.

The en-suite accommodation had a good shower and was of a high standard (and our hosts kindly provided milk in a thermos overnight for tea and coffee rather than UHT, a nice touch). A comfy common sitting room and dining room were cool on hot days while still smelling of cosy winter fires. Lastly, their almost yapless wee dog Posie was an unexpected delight. We would most certainly recommend Bachuil to anyone interested in experiencing the island from this historic location.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JP_and_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for your review and kind comments. They mean a great deal to us as we feel that we are very much a destination rather than just a night stop.

In particular I must thank you for the leads you gave me for more information on St Moluag.

We very much enjoyed the games of table tennis but I am sorry to say that we were soundly thrashed by a friend of my daughters. I just wish you had been here then, J, so that you might have given him a run for his money.

We later switched to Pirate Croquet which is rather a good version. Very easy and great fun – though not if someone steals your hard earned points and you have to go back to the start.

You really are extended family as you have been coming to the island for years. I hope it won’t be long until we see you on Lismore again. Tonight we are off to Anna’s for her daughter’s birthday party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights on Lismore last week, using pedal and foot power only!

Lismore is a brilliant place for cyclists and walkers- (mostly) gentle hills, virtually traffic free and plenty of opportunities for exploring on foot, off the beaten track! The community-run heritage centre is also a wonderful asset for the island- many hours can be spent finding out about the fascinating history and culture of the island, followed by an excellent lunch or afternoon tea.

We would reiterate all the comments made so far about the beautiful Bachuil Country House and its owners! Anita and Niall are very thoughtful and attentive- they were genuinely passionate about making sure we enjoyed our stay.

The other highlights were the breakfasts- the best full cooked breakfast we've had in years. The Bachuil eggs are outstanding! Our evening meal was also very memorable- melt in your mouth pork loin steaks braised with sweet peppers- lovely flavours and colours! Even better was the option for second helpings- very important to us cyclists! The provision of maps, books and binoculars is also a great extra. Oh yes, and not to forget the bottle of real ale to accompany our picnic lunch!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

We were fascinated to have visitors from a neighbouring island. Each one is very different and as you noticed Lismore has the most fantastic views. Hamish Haswell-Smith in his best selling guide to Scottish Islands writes ‘For delightful walking country LISMORE is supreme’. He describes a walk at the south end as ‘one of the finest walks in Scotland and views that are unequalled anywhere’,

There used to be a ferry from Mull but it is now a bit more of an operation. I think we shall try and head over to see you and meet up for a pint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

From when we first arrived in the afternoon to our far too early departure it has been a delight. I would like to highlight how having the best scrambled eggs with salmon at 7am is a real treat! Anita and Niall are wonderful hosts and make you feel comfortable and at ease immediately. Important to mention are also the delicious dinner and the comfortable mattress we enjoyed. Last but not least every single island anecdote will stay with us for a long time - or until we return! We would have loved to spend more time on Lismore to enjoy the views and some nice long walks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you for your kind words, they mean a great deal to us. We are also pleased that you mentioned the beds. People do seem to get a good nights sleep here! I do hope that your boat trip was a success and that you were able to see the wahles and dolphins you hoped for. Look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We enjoyed the warm hospitality of Niall & Anita in their charming country house last week. We had a one-night stay as we had no inkling of how beautiful Lismore would prove to be - the sunshine was a bonus.
The house is steeped in history but is very pretty with seaside pastels, lovely artwork and every comfort. We arrived by car ferry from Oban to Lismore and chose to take the passenger ferry on the short crossing to dine at the Pierhouse in Port Appin in the evening (also fabulous). Breakfast was delicious. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrudenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your kind comments. It was lovely to see you and we very much enjoyed our brief conversation. Yes, Lismore has a great deal to offer and with only one night you hardly get a chance to touch down and you are off again. We have had a glorious run of weather, although it is raining today. Much needed as we harvest rainwater for the showers etc. It is lovely and soft whereas our well water is very hard. Do hope you are able to come again to explore more of the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed three nights on Lismore which is a great place to relax and walk. Niall and Anita were very welcoming and interesting hosts. we were offered different breakfasts each morning at a time of our choosing - all were delicious. The room was very comfortable especially the foam mattress after all the walking, shower excellent, they always provided fresh milk for teas and coffees and biscuits. We took our dog and they even looked after her one night when we went out - you cant do any better than that!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suescantlebury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

We are glad you enjoyed yourselves. It seemed as if you needed to unwind and I hoped we helped you achieve that. I am sorry the weather was a bit mixed. The dayyou left Anita claimed it was too hot for her to be outside! I do hope that you were able to enjoy a relaxing potter south.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bachuil Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bachuil Country House

Address: Bachuil Bachuil | Isle of Lismore, PA34 5UL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Lismore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Lismore
Price Range: £157 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bachuil Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the Barons of Bachuil, Chiefs of Clan Maclea (Livingstone), who have lived here since St Moluag arrived in 562. Typical Scottish Country House on the beautiful Isle of Lismore, in the Inner Hebrides. Car Ferry 45 minutes from Oban or Passenger ferry 10 minutes from Port Appin. Niall and Anita hope guests will enjoy the peace, stunning scenery, abundant wildlife, our famous wild flowers and ancient heritage including duns and castles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bachuil Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing