We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bachuil Country House
Nearby Hotels
US$570
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
27
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We spent three nights at Bachuil Country House and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Niall and Anita are excellent hosts and went to exceptional lengths to make us feel welcome. They are very attentive and extremely hospitable. The breakfasts were first class, including eggs laid by their own hens, and on the evening when we dined with the family the dinner was excellent, with a relaxed informality and fascinating fireside conversation afterwards during which we learned of the long and unique history of the house and the family that own it. Our room was very comfortable, warm and quiet. The house is charming and full of lovely furniture and interesting family possessions. The island contains a range of interesting places to visit, including two ruined castles, an iron-age broch, a parish church that includes the remains of a medieval cathedral, and an informative heritage centre (which includes a pleasant café). The one shop on the island contains quite a useful range of goods, and also sells wine. We would recommend going down to the south of the island and walking to the tip to see one of the Stevenson lighthouses. A highlight of the day we were there was suddenly coming across a pair of golden sea eagles, with nine foot wingspans, teaching their eaglet high above us how to dive and attack. All points of the island offer dramatic prospects with ever-changing light conditions. The passenger ferry to Port Appin is a fun trip, with friendly crewmen. Another memorable moment was on the day of the Appin Highland Show when they were loading seven rather reluctant prize sheep into the wheelhouse of the boat. The last boat back to Lismore is at 9.30pm during the week which allows plenty of time for dinner at the Pier House Hotel restaurant/bar, which we would recommend. Everyone we met on Lismore and the surrounding mainland was helpful and courteous. Would strongly recommend a stay in this lovely part of the world.

Room Tip: There is a twin room with bath and a double room with shower. The latter has a nice dual aspect.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am quite jealous of your sighting of the sea eagles. I have seen them a few times but not in playful acrobatic mode. We have just had some guests that were looking for otters (which they found) when a sea eagle took off from a rock just below them. I don’t know who had the biggest fright! You were lucky with the Appin show at the croft beside Castle Stalker as I rather thought it might have been rained off. As often happens the weather was a lot better than forecast. As has bee pointed out many times we are only a couple of hours from Glasgow yet once here you could be on a different planet. Do hope that we will see you on the island again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights b&b & dinner. The house is lovely, and we were made to feel like very welcome house guests. All the food was excellent, company & conversation was fun, our bedroom (en-suite) was comfortable & spacious. Recommend visits to iron-age broch, "viking" castle, and lismore museum. Take your car (or bikes) to get around (book car ferry from Oban in advance - it only takes 4 vehicles).

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Derek and Sarah, thank you for your feedback. It means a great deal to us and helps to give prospective guests an idea of what to expect. The ferry can in theory take six cars but can be quite tight. However, the crew are delightful and are adept at either guiding you on or even driving the car on themselves. CalMac have promised us a better roll-on roll-off ferry that should take 12 cars which will make a huge difference. Hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband, myself and two friends have been visiting Isle of Lismore for more than 20years for our holidays in the month of August. We have stopped in The Manse, a farm and numerous other holiday lets on the island.
Our latest find has been the Bachuil with Niall and Anita, the perfect hosts.
So glad we were able to spend a few days and experience such a comfortable stay.
As this property is not advertised as a hotel but a B&B I have to say the comfort of the lovely beds the tasty breakfast and the cleanliness of the rooms made the stay certainly as good as any 4 star hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

We are very glad to have seen you back on the Isle of Lismore and I was thrilled that one of you had been to my 21st birthday party a few years ago - the unkind might say a few decades. Hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our stay of five nights at Bachuil Country House, on the Isle of Lios-mor was an experience which we will cherish and remember for years to come.

Niall and Anita are excellent hosts, welcoming and hospitable, having an infectious enthusiasm for the Island of Lismore, together with a great deal of interesting information and knowledge of the history of the island to share with their guests. Posie ( canis domesticus ), provides yet another friendly dimension to staying at Bachuil House.

Our room was very comfortable, especially the bed, equipped with a memory-foam(tm) mattress.

Breakfasts were definitely superior, one must not be put off if Niall suggests trying the
' Compost ' for breakfast, as it is in fact, a fruit compote, a delicious specialty of Anita.

During the last evening of our stay we enjoyed a fine evening meal, in the company of two other guests and our hosts, the ambiance being that of a friendly family evening dinner party.

During our stay we walked a fair proportion of the roads, tracks and footpaths of the island and enjoyed this very much. The Lismore Heritage Museum provides much interesting information and sensibly priced food, the museum / cafe has become a social centre for the island.

Anita and Niall could not have been more welcoming or helpful to us, we really enjoyed their company.

As one drives into the tree lined driveway of the house, one can see upon the house name board, 4 AA stars, we would suggest that 5 stars would be quite applicable.

Thank you, J and D.

Room Tip: Very tranquil location.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN_C027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for your kind comments even if you are stealing my fun regarding the compost!

Thank you for the feadback you gave me on my draft walking guide. In retrospect I think you were very lucky with the weather as after you left I think it was far too hot to walk ten miles a day.

I do hope that you made some interesting contacts on the ham radio.

These reviews and feedback mean a great deal to us and I think that they give potential guests a flavour of what we offer. It certainly is different!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have been going to the beautiful island of Lismore for many years, and we like to try out new places to stay on the island as they emerge. This, then, is a review of Bachuil Country House and not the island itself, which is already dear to us and has been covered in earlier reviews.

Our interesting and agreeably eccentric hosts at Bachuil were genuinely concerned about our enjoyment of our stay, and we felt like we were visiting extended family rather than staying at a B&B. Niall and Anita kept us entertained with provocative and intelligent conversations covering quite a breadth of topics during most of the evenings of our stay. We had the opportunity to meet some of the other residents on the island, and Niall and Anita even set up table tennis equipment extracted from deep in their barn when we expressed a simple interest - both of our hosts proved excellent competition! The food, as has already been noted, was superb, negotiable, and catered well to our tastes. Those who wish a more independent and anonymous experience could no doubt be accommodated if this is expressly requested, but we were treated like family guests, and genial and energetic hospitality is clearly the default at Bachuil.

The en-suite accommodation had a good shower and was of a high standard (and our hosts kindly provided milk in a thermos overnight for tea and coffee rather than UHT, a nice touch). A comfy common sitting room and dining room were cool on hot days while still smelling of cosy winter fires. Lastly, their almost yapless wee dog Posie was an unexpected delight. We would most certainly recommend Bachuil to anyone interested in experiencing the island from this historic location.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JP_and_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for your review and kind comments. They mean a great deal to us as we feel that we are very much a destination rather than just a night stop.

In particular I must thank you for the leads you gave me for more information on St Moluag.

We very much enjoyed the games of table tennis but I am sorry to say that we were soundly thrashed by a friend of my daughters. I just wish you had been here then, J, so that you might have given him a run for his money.

We later switched to Pirate Croquet which is rather a good version. Very easy and great fun – though not if someone steals your hard earned points and you have to go back to the start.

You really are extended family as you have been coming to the island for years. I hope it won’t be long until we see you on Lismore again. Tonight we are off to Anna’s for her daughter’s birthday party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews