We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful house and excellent host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bachuil Country House
Lilliesleaf, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful house and excellent host”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

we stayed here with my parents for 2 nights so we could show them the beautiful island of lismore that we discovered last summer. staying at Bachuil made the whole experience so much more special. the house is comfortable and homely with a feeling that you are a friend coming to stay not a paying guest. On this occasion Niall was managing alone and did a fantastic job looking after us. when our plan to go to port Appin seemed to be in peril with the changes in ferries Niall did everything possible to help out including finding several interesting ways (very large bell, hunting horn, loud bellowing) to find my husband when he had wandered off over the fields as we were due to leave for the ferry! no dull moments!! and lovely food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EleanorD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments and the compliments about the food. I am having to put rather rusty skills back into use. I very much enjoyed your visit and rather regret that Martin kept his talents hidden until shortly before departure. I would have enjoyed some conversations about them. However, I have now located Gough Island and read up about the annual exhibitions! Glad you made it to the Pier House in Port Appin for supper. Many of our guests enjoy meals there and at the Lios Beag Café at our Heritage Centre. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will make the trip across country again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Niall and Anita must be the perfect hosts. Breakfast was a lovely relaxed affair and the home made Compote was delicious. With the best home cooked food and stimulating after dinner discussions there was no need for any other entertainment in the evening. The bed was comfortable and the room cosy. We got very wet one day and they were very attentive helping us to get dry and warm. Niall’s stories about the island and his ability to trace his ancestry back to the original in habitants were fascinating, as is the island itself. We too saw the Sea Eagles at the south of the island, with Seals and Otters often seen. Lismore is well worth a trip and the best place to stay is Bachuil Country House

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillwalker284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I am so sorry that it has taken so long to respond to this review. I must have missed it in the winter closure. Very glad you like the breakfast and Anita’s special compost. We get a lot of compliments about the beds and recently had a guest asking specific questions about the mattress so she could get one for herself! I do remember laughing about your encounter with a startled sea eagle and debate as to who had the biggest fright. Thank you very much for your kind comments as other guests tell us that they do make a difference and give them a colourful indication of what they might expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We spent three nights at Bachuil Country House and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Niall and Anita are excellent hosts and went to exceptional lengths to make us feel welcome. They are very attentive and extremely hospitable. The breakfasts were first class, including eggs laid by their own hens, and on the evening when we dined with the family the dinner was excellent, with a relaxed informality and fascinating fireside conversation afterwards during which we learned of the long and unique history of the house and the family that own it. Our room was very comfortable, warm and quiet. The house is charming and full of lovely furniture and interesting family possessions. The island contains a range of interesting places to visit, including two ruined castles, an iron-age broch, a parish church that includes the remains of a medieval cathedral, and an informative heritage centre (which includes a pleasant café). The one shop on the island contains quite a useful range of goods, and also sells wine. We would recommend going down to the south of the island and walking to the tip to see one of the Stevenson lighthouses. A highlight of the day we were there was suddenly coming across a pair of golden sea eagles, with nine foot wingspans, teaching their eaglet high above us how to dive and attack. All points of the island offer dramatic prospects with ever-changing light conditions. The passenger ferry to Port Appin is a fun trip, with friendly crewmen. Another memorable moment was on the day of the Appin Highland Show when they were loading seven rather reluctant prize sheep into the wheelhouse of the boat. The last boat back to Lismore is at 9.30pm during the week which allows plenty of time for dinner at the Pier House Hotel restaurant/bar, which we would recommend. Everyone we met on Lismore and the surrounding mainland was helpful and courteous. Would strongly recommend a stay in this lovely part of the world.

Room Tip: There is a twin room with bath and a double room with shower. The latter has a nice dual aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am quite jealous of your sighting of the sea eagles. I have seen them a few times but not in playful acrobatic mode. We have just had some guests that were looking for otters (which they found) when a sea eagle took off from a rock just below them. I don’t know who had the biggest fright! You were lucky with the Appin show at the croft beside Castle Stalker as I rather thought it might have been rained off. As often happens the weather was a lot better than forecast. As has bee pointed out many times we are only a couple of hours from Glasgow yet once here you could be on a different planet. Do hope that we will see you on the island again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights b&b & dinner. The house is lovely, and we were made to feel like very welcome house guests. All the food was excellent, company & conversation was fun, our bedroom (en-suite) was comfortable & spacious. Recommend visits to iron-age broch, "viking" castle, and lismore museum. Take your car (or bikes) to get around (book car ferry from Oban in advance - it only takes 4 vehicles).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Derek and Sarah, thank you for your feedback. It means a great deal to us and helps to give prospective guests an idea of what to expect. The ferry can in theory take six cars but can be quite tight. However, the crew are delightful and are adept at either guiding you on or even driving the car on themselves. CalMac have promised us a better roll-on roll-off ferry that should take 12 cars which will make a huge difference. Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband, myself and two friends have been visiting Isle of Lismore for more than 20years for our holidays in the month of August. We have stopped in The Manse, a farm and numerous other holiday lets on the island.
Our latest find has been the Bachuil with Niall and Anita, the perfect hosts.
So glad we were able to spend a few days and experience such a comfortable stay.
As this property is not advertised as a hotel but a B&B I have to say the comfort of the lovely beds the tasty breakfast and the cleanliness of the rooms made the stay certainly as good as any 4 star hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
We are very glad to have seen you back on the Isle of Lismore and I was thrilled that one of you had been to my 21st birthday party a few years ago - the unkind might say a few decades. Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our stay of five nights at Bachuil Country House, on the Isle of Lios-mor was an experience which we will cherish and remember for years to come.

Niall and Anita are excellent hosts, welcoming and hospitable, having an infectious enthusiasm for the Island of Lismore, together with a great deal of interesting information and knowledge of the history of the island to share with their guests. Posie ( canis domesticus ), provides yet another friendly dimension to staying at Bachuil House.

Our room was very comfortable, especially the bed, equipped with a memory-foam(tm) mattress.

Breakfasts were definitely superior, one must not be put off if Niall suggests trying the
' Compost ' for breakfast, as it is in fact, a fruit compote, a delicious specialty of Anita.

During the last evening of our stay we enjoyed a fine evening meal, in the company of two other guests and our hosts, the ambiance being that of a friendly family evening dinner party.

During our stay we walked a fair proportion of the roads, tracks and footpaths of the island and enjoyed this very much. The Lismore Heritage Museum provides much interesting information and sensibly priced food, the museum / cafe has become a social centre for the island.

Anita and Niall could not have been more welcoming or helpful to us, we really enjoyed their company.

As one drives into the tree lined driveway of the house, one can see upon the house name board, 4 AA stars, we would suggest that 5 stars would be quite applicable.

Thank you, J and D.

Room Tip: Very tranquil location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN_C027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your kind comments even if you are stealing my fun regarding the compost!

Thank you for the feadback you gave me on my draft walking guide. In retrospect I think you were very lucky with the weather as after you left I think it was far too hot to walk ten miles a day.

I do hope that you made some interesting contacts on the ham radio.

These reviews and feedback mean a great deal to us and I think that they give potential guests a flavour of what we offer. It certainly is different!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have been going to the beautiful island of Lismore for many years, and we like to try out new places to stay on the island as they emerge. This, then, is a review of Bachuil Country House and not the island itself, which is already dear to us and has been covered in earlier reviews.

Our interesting and agreeably eccentric hosts at Bachuil were genuinely concerned about our enjoyment of our stay, and we felt like we were visiting extended family rather than staying at a B&B. Niall and Anita kept us entertained with provocative and intelligent conversations covering quite a breadth of topics during most of the evenings of our stay. We had the opportunity to meet some of the other residents on the island, and Niall and Anita even set up table tennis equipment extracted from deep in their barn when we expressed a simple interest - both of our hosts proved excellent competition! The food, as has already been noted, was superb, negotiable, and catered well to our tastes. Those who wish a more independent and anonymous experience could no doubt be accommodated if this is expressly requested, but we were treated like family guests, and genial and energetic hospitality is clearly the default at Bachuil.

The en-suite accommodation had a good shower and was of a high standard (and our hosts kindly provided milk in a thermos overnight for tea and coffee rather than UHT, a nice touch). A comfy common sitting room and dining room were cool on hot days while still smelling of cosy winter fires. Lastly, their almost yapless wee dog Posie was an unexpected delight. We would most certainly recommend Bachuil to anyone interested in experiencing the island from this historic location.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JP_and_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, Owner at Bachuil Country House, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments. They mean a great deal to us as we feel that we are very much a destination rather than just a night stop.

In particular I must thank you for the leads you gave me for more information on St Moluag.

We very much enjoyed the games of table tennis but I am sorry to say that we were soundly thrashed by a friend of my daughters. I just wish you had been here then, J, so that you might have given him a run for his money.

We later switched to Pirate Croquet which is rather a good version. Very easy and great fun – though not if someone steals your hard earned points and you have to go back to the start.

You really are extended family as you have been coming to the island for years. I hope it won’t be long until we see you on Lismore again. Tonight we are off to Anna’s for her daughter’s birthday party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bachuil Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bachuil Country House

Property: Bachuil Country House
Address: Bachuil Bachuil | Isle of Lismore, PA34 5UL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Lismore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Lismore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the Barons of Bachuil, Chiefs of Clan Maclea (Livingstone), who have lived here since St Moluag arrived in 562. Typical Scottish Country House on the beautiful Isle of Lismore, in the Inner Hebrides. Car Ferry 45 minutes from Oban or Passenger ferry 10 minutes from Port Appin. Niall and Anita hope guests will enjoy the peace, stunning scenery, abundant wildlife, our famous wild flowers and ancient heritage including duns and castles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bachuil Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing