We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant”

The Duke William Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Duke William Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haxey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Go quite often for Sunday lunch. It does what it says on the tin. It is good valve no nonsense Sunday dinner with a good choice of excellently cooked joints of meat mash and roast potatoes Yorkshire puds gravy and veg. Quality is consistent and the staff pleasant. What more do you want ??

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here in July to meet some friends and have a night out in Haxey.
I was a bit worried by the term "Motel". I have stayed in some before and they have been low budget flea pits.
These, however, are on a different plane. Out the back of the pub there stretches around 17 terraced rooms. They are new builds and some work is still ongoing. The rooms are very large with en-suites and even a fridge. There is ample car parking outside your door. The decor is simple but effective. Flat screen freeview tv's, two single beds, an ample wardrobe, and dressing table and chair complete the furnishings. It is flat pack pine but looks great at the moment..
There is a hairdressers operating from one of the rooms.
The pub was fine and all the staff were pleasant and helpful.
A nice English breakfast topped it of for us, and for £60 it represents good value.
This place would be ideal for wedding guests, reunions, staff Xmas parties, etc.
I have no hesitation in recommending this as a short term stopover.

Room Tip: The higher numbers (ours was 15) are further away from the pub, but we never heard any noise at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ah4955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Had an excellent lunch for £4.95.
What good value. A whole gang of us in excess of 20 decended on them and they managed very well.
Well done
Had an excellent lunch for £4.95.
What good value. A whole gang of us in excess of 20 decended on them and they managed very well.
Well done

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Terry100650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here in July, whilst attending the Haxey Music Fesitval.

The rooms were ground floor, leading from the car park (motel style). This MAY make it easier for people with mobility problems once the building work has finished ... although it probably wouldn't be safe for them now (due to the nature of the uneven ground there at present, from construction work).

The staff were on the whole friendly and helpful.

The room was bright and spacious. However, there was no wardrobe!! We mentioned this to a staff member but she seem unconcerned by this. I had to hang my blouse on the curtain pole as there was no where else to put it. There was also no full length mirror and no bathroom bin.

We got the impression that our room had only just finished construction (they were in the process of building more) and we'd been housed there due to the increase of guests for the music festival. The room just didn't feel finished.

The mattresses on the beds were very thin and we therefore did not sleep comfortably. It was also infested with a LOT of spiders ... which didn't bother me but could possibly disturb anyone with a spider phobia.

We were very hungry when we arrived there at about 3pm but found that they did not offer food til the evening. We walked out but couldn't find anywhere locally to get something and ended up having to get back in the car and drive further afield just to get a meal!

The cooked breakfast here was basic but served by a cheerful, friendly staff member. However, she got flustered easily about which guest wanted what, despite the fact that only three tables were occupied. The table next to us had to ask three times for some milk for their coffee.

I think that they charge a lot for what is really very basic accommodation & breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lankylil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We booked in to this establishment for a family celebration near by. For £60 per night we stayed in a newly built room that was damp. There was no full length mirror, no wardrobe and two of the lights were falling out of the bathroom ceiling. The radiator would not turn on. The twin beds were one divan and one pine - the mattresses were so thin that it was like lying on bare boards. It was a building site with more units still to be tacked on. The landlord could not have been less interested, insisting that contractors stayed in the room with no complaints!!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here - we were a big group and all had a similar experience!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The room appeared to have been refurbished but with price in mind rather than quality.

You could feel the bed springs by putting your hand on the bed. The floor boards didn't reach the skirting board and there was a large gap. There was no handle on the bathroom radiator so this couldn't be turned on. Paint had already peeled away in the bathroom.

There was only one bedside table and a reading lamp on one side.

Room Tip: Choose one of the lower numbered rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Flybynight187055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I ate here while visiting the area with family and tried their 3 course lunch special. The deal is a 3 course meal for £4.95. Initially, the price may put some people off, but the food is good quality and home made - and obviously very good value for money.
The only criticism I could make of the place is that it could do with having the decoration brought up to date, however, this did not impact negatively on our lunch.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank DnG0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haxey
12.1 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
6.9 mi away
Hickman Hill Hotel
Hickman Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gainsborough
137 reviews
0 mi away
The Loco
The Loco
#2 of 2 in Haxey
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Black Swan Guest House
Black Swan Guest House
#3 of 9 in Gainsborough
126 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Duke William Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke William Motel

Address: Church Street, Haxey DN9 2HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Haxey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haxey
Price Range: £58 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke William Motel is situated in the pleasant village of Haxey - the ancient capital of the historic Isle of Axholme and home of the famous Haxey Hood. Dating back to approximately 1730, The Duke William has been beautifully refurbished to provide a host of facilities in a warm and friendly atmosphere, within easy reach of Robin Hood Airport and Doncaster. The Duke William Restaurant is open for lunches and evening meals, where you can enjoy delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Duke William Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing