We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop over, friendly hotelier who is also a gret chef” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge de L'Abbaye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge de L'Abbaye
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Bec-Hellouin
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great stop over, friendly hotelier who is also a gret chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

An overnight stop on our way to south west France, had a huge room, basic but perfectly clean. Great restaurant very very quaint and in a lovely setting in this peaceful village. Will definitely return

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    45
    43
    23
    14
See reviews for
22
123
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

An overnight stop on our long drive to The Algarve.
A truly beautiful hotel in a historical village setting.
Good welcome. Though our French was poor and we struggled to communicate effectively.
Quaint rooms and bathroom. Very comfortable.
Lovely restaurant with good menu.
Would definitely return to further explore the abbey in the Village.

Room Tip: Learn a little French
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Second visit to this delightful rural hotel/restaurant.
Same quiet village, room at rear of courtyard still a good choice and same professional but not unfriendly service.
Dinner was of a very high standard (but not cheap at c 40euros) with an added element of surprise as my menu decoder did not help with many of the resolutely French descriptions!
Hope to make this a regular stop on journeys to France.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here on the way to our holiday destination in southern Brittany. It was a perfect start to the holiday. We had a small but clean and comfortable room overlooking this very attractive village. Food and wine were both of a high standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haliaeetusalbicilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was a real surprise as we didn't really do any research before booking. The village is charming the hotel is modern and updated in a boutique style. Unfortunately during out stay the Wifi was down but i managed to survive that.
The restaurant is lovely and good value.
The staff are friendly but do prefer that you make the effort to communicate in French, which is understandable as we were in france.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are at the back of the hotel which is such quieter. The beautiful church do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahd29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here in late June 2013 on our way from the Normandy beaches back to Paris. We found the staff friendly, the accommodations comfortable, and the outdoor garden a charming spot for a cocktail before eating at the excellent restaurant attached to the hotel. Unfortunately, we were in a hurry and couldn't stay longer to explore the quaint village and abbey.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldrichio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Our second visit to this hotel and it was clear that there had been changes. The hotel was much smarter than on our first trip and the restaurant was impressive. The overall charm has been retained and it would be hard to fault the setting and surroundings. Inside, the rooms are now at a good standard although the bathrooms in some could do with an update - I got the impression that work was scheduled. The inner courtyard provided a quiet and sunny spot for a beer after a long journey and the restaurant, good on our previous visit, was superb. The presentation of the food was lovely and, most important, it tasted every bit as good as it looked. Overall, a very pleasant night stop and I suspect a very nice base for a few days exploring.

Room Tip: Some rooms appear to be awaiting modernisation but are perfectly good. To be sure, opt for a premium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Bec-Hellouin
10.6 mi away
Acadine Hotel
Acadine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Le Neubourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
10.0 mi away
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
#1 of 1 in Campigny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
14.7 mi away
Le Clos des Fontaines
Le Clos des Fontaines
#1 of 1 in Jumieges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
9.7 mi away
Armony Hotel
Armony Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bourg-Achard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
17.3 mi away
Manoir de Surville
Manoir de Surville
#1 of 1 in Surville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de L'Abbaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de L'Abbaye

Property: Auberge de L'Abbaye
Address: 12 Place Guillaume le Conquerant, 27800 Le Bec-Hellouin, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Le Bec-Hellouin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Bec-Hellouin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de L'Abbaye 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Auberge de L'Abbaye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De l`Abbaye Hotel Le Bec-Hellouin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing