We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely mini holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge de L'Abbaye
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Bec-Hellouin
Haslemere
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely mini holiday”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Spent four days here with a great deal that made it brilliant value for money, beautiful village in a good location with loads to see and do within easy reach. The restaurant is lovely and we enjoyed all the menu's, especially the desserts. Would be even better if there was more of a bar area. Only tiny criticism would be they are rather strict on meal times. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJHaslemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    53
    44
    24
    15
See reviews for
25
132
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Lovely small hotel. We were particularly impressed that they managed to provide hot drinks for breakfast during a power cut following the tremendous storm. They did speak some English but tactfully spoke French doucement so that we could understand. The hotel does have a lot of character, although we felt that no door on the bathroom was maybe not to everyone's taste.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisewest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, France
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had eaten lunch here a couple of years ago and it was very good. This time we stayed the night in a lovely room with a view over this beautiful village - autumn colours starting! The meal in the restaurant was first-class, genuinely gastronomic. Some people might complain about the portions but if you want an all-you-can-eat blow-out go elsewhere. This was delicious and refined cooking and the service throughout was friendly and unstuffy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boblecostaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

An overnight stop on our way to south west France, had a huge room, basic but perfectly clean. Great restaurant very very quaint and in a lovely setting in this peaceful village. Will definitely return

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

An overnight stop on our long drive to The Algarve.
A truly beautiful hotel in a historical village setting.
Good welcome. Though our French was poor and we struggled to communicate effectively.
Quaint rooms and bathroom. Very comfortable.
Lovely restaurant with good menu.
Would definitely return to further explore the abbey in the Village.

Room Tip: Learn a little French
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Second visit to this delightful rural hotel/restaurant.
Same quiet village, room at rear of courtyard still a good choice and same professional but not unfriendly service.
Dinner was of a very high standard (but not cheap at c 40euros) with an added element of surprise as my menu decoder did not help with many of the resolutely French descriptions!
Hope to make this a regular stop on journeys to France.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here on the way to our holiday destination in southern Brittany. It was a perfect start to the holiday. We had a small but clean and comfortable room overlooking this very attractive village. Food and wine were both of a high standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haliaeetusalbicilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Bec-Hellouin
10.1 mi away
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
#1 of 1 in Campigny
379 reviews
17.3 mi away
Manoir de Surville
Manoir de Surville
#1 of 1 in Surville
139 reviews
10.5 mi away
Acadine Hotel
Acadine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Le Neubourg
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Armony Hotel
Armony Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bourg-Achard
94 reviews
11.7 mi away
Belle Isle sur Risle
Belle Isle sur Risle
#1 of 2 in Pont-Audemer
534 reviews
18.1 mi away
Inter-Hotel Beuzeville Honfleur Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de L'Abbaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de L'Abbaye

Property: Auberge de L'Abbaye
Address: 12 Place Guillaume le Conquerant, 27800 Le Bec-Hellouin, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Le Bec-Hellouin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Bec-Hellouin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de L'Abbaye 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge de L'Abbaye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De l`Abbaye Hotel Le Bec-Hellouin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing