We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place very helpful people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casina Grotta di Ferro
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place very helpful people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We had a great stay. The place is lovely and the manager was extemely helpful to us, dealing with our leaving things behind. For that alone, definitely five points.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nigelalldays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    30
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
110
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Here is a very short summary of what we liked / disliked in Casina di Grotta during our 5day stay there in September:

Advantages:
- the place with atmosphere - old mansion with stylish interiors, surrounded by olive gardens,
- beautiful sights from courtyard and swimming pool area,
- great swimming pool with small jacuzzi,
- horse and donkey living close to the main building,
- 15-minute drive to nice beaches,
- very tasty and plentiful breakfast,

Disadvantages:
- small windows in rooms, which makes them rather dark,
- very narrow, curved road leading to the property, dusty in the final part,

Reccommended choice if you want to spend peaceful time by the swimming pool or visit Ragusa, Modica, Scicli or Noto and prefer being 'close to nature' rather than vivid nightlife.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcinWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

we stayed here for 3 days in September, 2 parents and our 21 year old son, and loved it. Our accommodation was spacious and very nicely furnished, well maintained and very clean. The grounds, the pool, the eating and other facilities are beautiful and all are in great shape, obviously being well maintained. Our host was very helpful with suggestions for meals and activities in the area. Breakfast had all of the usual components, but with fresh fruit, a nice assortment of local cheese, and interesting breads/cakes. All in all this was the perfect place to start our holiday in Sicily - close enough to local sights, great restaurants and the beach if we wanted to head off for a few hours, but peaceful and completely restful when we wanted to just relax and enjoy the pool and grounds.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marvelous m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I stayed here at the beginning of June and it was wonderful. Great facilities, swimming pool, fully fitted kitchen that guests can use, barbecue area, scenic views, lovely gardens and beautiful rooms. The guest house is in a court yard setting, and very picturesque, the rooms are great with comfortable double beds, air con and nice and clean. The swimming pool was superb for relaxing and taking in the views. Franco and Carmela who own the guest house, were wonderful to me when I was ill unfortunately on the last day of our trip, assisting with medication that I needed. They were very warm and friendly and extremely helpful - nothing was too much for them. Would definately stay here again, you obviously need a car, but the beach and ammenities are just a short drive away.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaLintern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geilenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed at Grotta di Ferro in November 2010 with our daughter (17 years old). Breathtaking view on the surrounding nature landscapes and the sea. Isolated enough to enjoy serenity and relax during your stay. Swimming pool always accessible. Excellent Breakfast offered with genuine and typical local produced food. In spite of the late season we were able to spend some time at the closest beach of Marina di Ragusa. The owners Franco and Carmela are very kind and helpful, making you stay as feeling at home. Don't forget to ask Franco to advice for the best restaurants and trattorie of the surroundings (mozzarella cheese, ricotta, fish ... ). Wireless Internet connection was always available.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena195otto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castelldefels, Spain
Level Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We spent 4 nights there during our 15-day holiday in Sicily and it was perfect. Franco, the owner, was so kind and helpful with restaurant recommendations and reservations. He even lent us chairs and parasol for the beach! The room was big and beautiful, with air conditioning and an excellent bathroom. The swimming pool was an oasis on hot scorching middays. Breakfast was superb, I still remember the ricota croissants!!! Very near the beach and beautiful places like Ragusa Ibla and Scicli.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castelldefels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
156 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

very good B&B with very nice swimmingpool. Breakfast superb and the restaurants in the surroundings (advice from the owner Franco) very tasty.
The views from the courtyard are marvellous

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoffel1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Croce Camerina
5.9 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 39 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
6.7 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
2.9 mi away
Relais Parco Cavalonga
Relais Parco Cavalonga
#8 of 39 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Mar&Sol
Hotel Mar&Sol
#2 of 6 in Santa Croce Camerina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
3.4 mi away
Casato Licitra
Casato Licitra
#17 of 39 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casina Grotta di Ferro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casina Grotta di Ferro

Property: Casina Grotta di Ferro
Address: Contrada Torre Maestro SNC, 97100, Santa Croce Camerina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Santa Croce Camerina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Croce Camerina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casina Grotta di Ferro 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grotta Di Ferro Estate is rural building typical of Ragusa having approximately 52 hectars of olive and carob trees having once been a summer residence belonging to the nobility.The complex is immersed in the characteristic Iblea countryside. Lovely hills and plateaus, divided by narrow, shallow gorges cut throughout the centuries by small torrents in the white limestone which forms the ibleo land. In the last years the Estate has entirely been restored, brought to the ancient shine and turned to Country Hotel by the new owners that they take care of it, personally, the management and the hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casina Grotta di Ferro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casina Grotta Di Ferro Sicily/Santa Croce Camerina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing