We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet but nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casina Grotta di Ferro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet but nice!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A well restored place. Good rooms with airco and a small bath room. A nice swimming pool, but no restaurant. You can cook in the kitchen (there is a refrigirator to store your food) or use the barbecue. We did not like the four cats and two dogs while we were eating outside. Franco did not understand englisch all times. That is a pity for a lot of italian people. Breakfast was good. But sitting on the great place between the buildings, looking over the garden in the evening with a good bottle of wine, was our favorite here!

Room Tip: in the room - directly left from the gate- we heard the people above us. There is a very nice room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    32
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
111
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for some authentic, genuine and memorable experience in Sicily, don't miss to spend time here. As everyone already mentioned, the peacefulness of the countryside and the farm are wonderful, but in our opinion what made the difference were the owners, Franco and Carmela went above and beyond what we could possibly expect. From taking me personally to get fresh eggs in the morning, to bring us to dinner to the neighbors farm, to help us every where we were with directions, guides, stories, meeting all their family members and making us feel part of their own...needless to say the food was amazing and we were also lucky to meet other super nice visitors there and organize an amazing home cooked meal at their beautiful well equipped kitchen....not to mention Franco kindness to offer us a special wine...We can't wait to go back again. Thank you again Franco and Carmela for making our stay in Sicily a memorable one.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stefania V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A beautifully restored pallazo, transports you to a Sicily of the times of Lampedusa's "Leopard". Great views of the countryside, beautiful old-style rooms, a large swimming pool, great breakfast, the warmth of the couple who owns the place and seem genuinely pleased to make you enjoy your stay. The sort of place that tempts you to stay in the whole day, enjoying the sun and surroundings. You will need a car to get there, and be sure to have a good map; the "Marco Polo" we had was near useless, it doesn't identify country roads. You will be 10 min from Punta Secca (home of inspector Montalbano...), where there is an excellent supermarket, and less than 30 min from Ragusa, Modica and Scicli, places well worth a trip to Sicily.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curupira_enfezado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Immersed in the Ragusan countryside, this hidden gem is truly a great find. The property is well cared for by the hosts, offering guests ample facilities such as various outdoor spaces to use, a kitchenette and a wonderful pool overlooking the breath-taking view. Breakfast is simple and fresh... Oh so delicious! The warm welcome by the hosts is just the cherry on the cake. Stay at this place if you are after an authentic experience, you want to get away from it all, but still within reach of the surrounding villages... Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We loved this place. Out in the middle of nowhere with peaceful and spectacular views. the cows were driven past our door every morning and the donkey was your wake up alarm call. We loved making our own food in the kichen and eating on the terrace with a glass of vino. our only criticism the swimming pool could have been cleaner. but definitely worth staying at.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleyporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed here for a couple of days in April 2013 with my wife. It is in the heart of the countryside in the south west of the island and make sure to get detailed directions if you are in a hired car as it could be difficult to find otherwise. The service and attention were excellent and helpful at all times. We drove around the area and had a very enjoyable time overall. We dined in some of the other agritouriso places nearby and found them also to be excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griff1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinner
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is a wonderful farmhouse in the middle of beautiful, peaceful countryside but still easy, with a car to visit so many places. Franco and his whole team couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. We had great breakfasts, fresh bread and pastries lovely local cheeses and great coffee. There is a vegetable garden so we had plenty of fresh veg and eggs from the chickens so it was easy to do abit of cooking in the really handy comunal kitchen. All the communal areas are really well kept there is a lovely pool area with a view down to Marina di Ragusa where you can relax on one of the plentiful sun loungers. If you are a Montalbano fan then many of the filming locations are within 15-30 minutes drive, Punta Secca, Sicli, Donnafaguta and Ragusa Ibla to name a few! We would thoroughly recommend staying here and would love to visit again. Look out for the dancing parrot!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMHPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Croce Camerina
5.9 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 38 in Ragusa
618 reviews
6.7 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
4.5 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#6 of 38 in Ragusa
440 reviews
3.4 mi away
Casato Licitra
Casato Licitra
#18 of 38 in Ragusa
262 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Muraglia
La Muraglia
#1 of 22 in Santa Croce Camerina
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casina Grotta di Ferro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casina Grotta di Ferro

Property: Casina Grotta di Ferro
Address: Contrada Torre Maestro SNC, 97100, Santa Croce Camerina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Santa Croce Camerina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Croce Camerina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casina Grotta di Ferro 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grotta Di Ferro Estate is rural building typical of Ragusa having approximately 52 hectars of olive and carob trees having once been a summer residence belonging to the nobility.The complex is immersed in the characteristic Iblea countryside. Lovely hills and plateaus, divided by narrow, shallow gorges cut throughout the centuries by small torrents in the white limestone which forms the ibleo land. In the last years the Estate has entirely been restored, brought to the ancient shine and turned to Country Hotel by the new owners that they take care of it, personally, the management and the hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casina Grotta di Ferro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casina Grotta Di Ferro Sicily/Santa Croce Camerina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing