We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to be in the Ragusa area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casina Grotta di Ferro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is an old farm house, refurbished in an hotel. The refurb has respected the style and aspect of the original building. The place is in the middle of the country side. Very silent, beds are very comfortable and the breakfast is what you can expect.
There is a swimming pool with a jacuzzi that looks great for summer time.
Only aspects to consider is that the area has not a lot of restaurants nearby, so you need to take the car and go to Ragusa or any other village.
The other downside is the shower, that is may be not the late state of the art in design, but it is clean and perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter_bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

The guest house is set back from the road down an 800m private drive. The house itself is pretty, with a large courtyard/seating area and a lovely large swimming pool and sun terrace. The rooms are large and comfortable, retaining many of the original features of the building and the reception is both warm and helpful.

Breakfast is plentiful and delicious.

The only slight negative is the lack of dinner available on site - although there is a BBQ facility, so maybe availability of some meat etc to buy would be useful.

Other than that, perfect, peaceful and relaxing stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Benemma82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

When you enter the Casina Grotta di Ferro, after a very bumpy country road where you will cross a donkey, cows and a horse, you immediately feel charmed by this beautiful place.
The beautiful old stones courtyard seduces you, as does the magnificient view of the countryside. The pool is large, a bit fresh, which we welcomed happily in those warm summer days.
The kitchen a real pleasure to alternate with restaurants, eating in the courtyard and sometimes making very friendly encounters with other guests.

We had booked a family room - the junior suite on 1st floor. What a beauty ! For just a 3 star hotel, this was the largest room we had in the country. 2 tastefully decorated large rooms, with very high ceilings. A very practical bathroom. And a beautiful terrace that overlooked the countryside to the sea. What a pleasure to open a bottle of the wine sold in the room and have a drink before dinner in this surrounding.

The rooms on bottom floor seemed much smaller and with less charm than the one we had... but they're probably less expensive also.

Breakfast is very decent for a 3 star hotel, we found all we needed every morning.

Our only 2 deceptions were:
- contact with the owners. Whilst other reviewers claim how friendly the owners were to them, giving them priceless advice, we had little contact. The language barrier is probably to blame, as they speak no French and hardly any English.
- other reviewers, and actually the owner himself when I had booked, had mentioned that once in a while the owners would cook a dinner for the guests to enjoy. We didn't have that chance and were a bit disappointed, we really would have loved it.
A note in the room also mentioned the possibility to access a catering service or even benefit the services of a cook whilst staying on the premices... but when we tried asking about it the owner stared at us, not understanding what we were talking about. So we just let go. Anyway this was a detail.

The region is absolutely beautiful : Ragusa, Modica, ... enchanting cities.
We went to swim quite often at Marina di Ragusa and found the beaches less crowded that we had thought and really very nice.

We loved every bit of our stay in this beautiful, warm, charming country house. It is worth much more than 3 stars, prepare to love it !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrueBlueParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

A well restored place. Good rooms with airco and a small bath room. A nice swimming pool, but no restaurant. You can cook in the kitchen (there is a refrigirator to store your food) or use the barbecue. We did not like the four cats and two dogs while we were eating outside. Franco did not understand englisch all times. That is a pity for a lot of italian people. Breakfast was good. But sitting on the great place between the buildings, looking over the garden in the evening with a good bottle of wine, was our favorite here!

Room Tip: in the room - directly left from the gate- we heard the people above us. There is a very nice room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

If you are looking for some authentic, genuine and memorable experience in Sicily, don't miss to spend time here. As everyone already mentioned, the peacefulness of the countryside and the farm are wonderful, but in our opinion what made the difference were the owners, Franco and Carmela went above and beyond what we could possibly expect. From taking me personally to get fresh eggs in the morning, to bring us to dinner to the neighbors farm, to help us every where we were with directions, guides, stories, meeting all their family members and making us feel part of their own...needless to say the food was amazing and we were also lucky to meet other super nice visitors there and organize an amazing home cooked meal at their beautiful well equipped kitchen....not to mention Franco kindness to offer us a special wine...We can't wait to go back again. Thank you again Franco and Carmela for making our stay in Sicily a memorable one.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stefania V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A beautifully restored pallazo, transports you to a Sicily of the times of Lampedusa's "Leopard". Great views of the countryside, beautiful old-style rooms, a large swimming pool, great breakfast, the warmth of the couple who owns the place and seem genuinely pleased to make you enjoy your stay. The sort of place that tempts you to stay in the whole day, enjoying the sun and surroundings. You will need a car to get there, and be sure to have a good map; the "Marco Polo" we had was near useless, it doesn't identify country roads. You will be 10 min from Punta Secca (home of inspector Montalbano...), where there is an excellent supermarket, and less than 30 min from Ragusa, Modica and Scicli, places well worth a trip to Sicily.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curupira_enfezado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Immersed in the Ragusan countryside, this hidden gem is truly a great find. The property is well cared for by the hosts, offering guests ample facilities such as various outdoor spaces to use, a kitchenette and a wonderful pool overlooking the breath-taking view. Breakfast is simple and fresh... Oh so delicious! The warm welcome by the hosts is just the cherry on the cake. Stay at this place if you are after an authentic experience, you want to get away from it all, but still within reach of the surrounding villages... Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Croce Camerina
5.9 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
666 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#4 of 37 in Ragusa
486 reviews
2.9 mi away
Relais Parco Cavalonga
Relais Parco Cavalonga
#9 of 37 in Ragusa
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
4.9 mi away
Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Tenuta Biddemi B&B
Tenuta Biddemi B&B
#11 of 31 in Santa Croce Camerina
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casina Grotta di Ferro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casina Grotta di Ferro

Address: Contrada Torre Maestro SNC, 97100, Santa Croce Camerina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Santa Croce Camerina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Croce Camerina
Price Range: £48 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casina Grotta di Ferro 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grotta Di Ferro Estate is rural building typical of Ragusa having approximately 52 hectars of olive and carob trees having once been a summer residence belonging to the nobility.The complex is immersed in the characteristic Iblea countryside. Lovely hills and plateaus, divided by narrow, shallow gorges cut throughout the centuries by small torrents in the white limestone which forms the ibleo land. In the last years the Estate has entirely been restored, brought to the ancient shine and turned to Country Hotel by the new owners that they take care of it, personally, the management and the hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casina Grotta di Ferro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casina Grotta Di Ferro Sicily/Santa Croce Camerina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing