We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geoff m”
Review of Hotel l'Alpazur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel l'Alpazur
Reviewed 5 March 2012

3rd time with Snowcoach, 1st time to Val Cenis. Great location, very close to the chairlifts. Hotel was very clean, food was great and staff were very helpful. Travelled both ways in a very comfortable coach (Gold Crest). Would like to return next year if possible.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just returned from 6 nights here (24/02/12). We have here children aged 6,8 & 10 booked via snow coach but made our own way there. Plenty of Easy jet flights hired a car at Grenoble airport then drove using sat nav for 2.5 hours, all no problem.

Don’t expect a 5 star luxury hotel which this is not, what it is a simple traditional hotel that is clean and staffed with 100% English staff who will bend over backwards to help you.

In order to give a balanced review, our sink drain was blocked all week and the games room needs some attention, but there’s no getting away from the fact that this hotel offers exceptional value for money. Food served was very good and plenty of it, breakfast was ample and fresh cakes and tea is served every day at 4.30pm. The slopes are within a few hundred yards and you an almost ski to the hotel. There are certainly a lot of ski runs in this resort and with a young family there are also some great green (beginners) runs. We would defiantly go back.

An old style hotel that’s clean, with great food good service and offers fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eastbournefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Having travelled with Snowcoach several times over a decade ago, we booked a last minute break in half term to take advantage of exceptional snow conditions in 2012.

The Club Cantabrica coaches owned by Snowcoach looked old and desperately in need of replacement. We were lucky and travelled both ways in a smarter coach hired in from another company for the busy half term period. Don't underestimate the journey - 1000km from Calais and a 12 hour experience. Your experience will be shaped by your fellow travellers so there is an element of luck here. Sadly for company we had the older gentleman who gave his wife a running commentary throughout the night and the inconsiderate person who reclined his seat into our laps without a word of warning. Hopefully you will be luckier!

The hotel is typically French - dark corridors, smallish rooms and a square box in appearance. The carpets and the dining chairs were a little threadbare and the flock wallpaper had faded considerably over the years . However the bedrooms have been refurbished fairly recently as had most of the communal areas. These were nicely done with lots of wood, down lighters and bright colours. If this is continued to the remainder of the hotel it will be a pretty smart place.

The big advantage of the hotel is its location. Right in the centre of town yet only 200m to the lifts. You can even ski right to the ski room door from 2800m - providing you don't fall in the river! The post office is opposite as is the tourist office and a supermarket. The town has many small shops and bars within a few hundred metres.

The ski area will keep intermediates busy for a few days and with 1340 metres of height between the top and bottom it is impressive for a smaller resort. The next village up the valley had some of the best nursery slopes we have ever come across. There is a free bus or you can ski an easy green there.

By far the best part of the experience were the 13 hotel staff. A chef who was actually a qualified chef, fantastic cakes every day made by a trained pastry chef and receptionist fluent in French. Yes there had been staff changes part of the way through the season (including the manager!) but everything was under control and the attention we received was second to none. The rooms were serviced every day and everywhere was clean and warm. Extra fruit at breakfast, the emergency use of the washing machine or putting 5kg of cheese in their fridge was no problem.

Overall if you can endure the journey you will be very well fed and looked after when you eventually get there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We have just returned from a most enjoyable holiday at hotel alpazur, val cenis with snowcoach.
Accomodation was very comfortable and welcoming. Excellent food - including plentiful breakfasts, afternoon tea and evening meals.
Staff were all helpful and approachable, well led by newly appointed manager Sarah.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed here prior to Christmas 2011. My friends and I had a great experiance, the staff were friendly, the ski guiding good and the food was out standing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ritchie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have just returned from what was supposed to be a 10 day ski holiday with Snowcoach, but as I was having such a fantastic time I was able to extend it until the Wednesday making it 14 days. For the inexpensive trip it is, you get such value for money. ok, the coaches are not always the most luxurious, but we got there in time for sat breakfast and was on the slopes by mid day. The heating was not working in my bedroom (thankfully) because the hotel is so hot it was not necessary. I was given a small heater which was great for airing my boots with. The food thanks to Craig the Chef was wonderful and so much of it. Beds very comfy and always gallons of hot water for baths and showers. The staff always smiling and willing to help with whatever questions and requests thrown their way. Skiing was great, conditions were really good, but I always feel that that is in the lap of the gods so nothing to do with Snowcoach. Plenty of area to ski and lots of wonderful places to stop for the vin chaude top ups. Highly recomend the creperie on the l'escargo for vin chaude blanc, and the restaurant at the bottom of Termingon for the best pizza. I hate having to say how wonderful this place is as I would rather keep it completely to my self. I have been here 8 times and will return again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river have such a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here in December 2011, just before Xmas.
The Staff were very helpful, friendly and hard working, The hotel was warm and clean and perfectly adequate.
The food was very good, and lots of it.
We were able to ski home to the front door, although part of the skiing was along the pavement, there was a lot of fresh snow and few pedestrians.
The ski area is good with varied runs.
The snow was great.
Little bars are at the bottom of the main ski area, a lift and downhill ski from the Alpazur.
All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catwoman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Charles Val Cenis
Hotel Saint Charles Val Cenis
#1 of 10 in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Alpages de Val Cenis
Les Alpages de Val Cenis
#2 of 10 in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
222 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile des Neiges
Hotel l'Etoile des Neiges
#1 of 1 in Lanslevillard
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Club Vacanciel Val Cenis
Hotel Club Vacanciel Val Cenis
#3 of 10 in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
76 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Turra
Hotel La Turra
#1 of 3 in Termignon
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Val Cenis
Hotel Club mmv Val Cenis
#6 of 10 in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Alpazur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Alpazur

Address: 106 Rue du Mont Cenis, 73480 Lanslebourg Mont Cenis, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
Price Range: £63 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Alpazur 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel l'Alpazur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing