We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel very close to the lifts”
Review of Hotel l'Alpazur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel l'Alpazur
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel very close to the lifts”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Unlike some hotels in close proximity to the ski lifts, this one does not cost a fortune.
A bit shabby chic, but great food and service. We particularly liked the large dining room tables encouraging singles and couples to mix and get to know other skiers. Travelled with Snowcoach, who now have new coaches, very comfortable and give a bonus extra 2 days ski-ing. In early April the pistes were virtually empty. Sauna was broken when we were there, the only downside.

Room Tip: Rooms at back have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grimbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    29
    16
    8
    10
See reviews for
31
27
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a horrendous journey with Snowcoach. Head office had not booked us a ferry crossing and whilst driving through France in torrential rain, the windscreen wipers broke!
The saving grace of our holiday was the hotel which was expertly run by Peter and Joey. It is not a luxury hotel, but was spotlessly clean, well run and the food was superb. All the staff were really helpful and friendly, nothing was too much for them.

I would definitely return to this hotel, but would find alternative ways of getting there.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a riverside room with bath, which helps after a hard day on the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

If you can get to this hotel without the horror journey of Snowcoach, then this hotel is a superb choice. The hotel is run professionally by very experienced couple, Joey and Peter. Whilst not at the luxury end of the market, the hotel is spotlessly clean, well organised, and extremely warm and friendly.
Riverside rooms overlook the slopes and main chair lifts - ask for a room with a bath to ease aching legs before taking advantage of Happy Hour in the well stocked bar. The food is of a high standard and very plentiful with an extensive range of cold or hot breakfast, and a four course evening meal with wine that gets replaced without asking. Afternoon tea and cakes are dangerously good too.
All the staff are knowledgeable and friendly - nothing is too much trouble. Just try to avoid the shambolic journey with the ever feckless Snowcoach!

Room Tip: Ask for riverside with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We have traveled with Snowcoach several times before but the hotel management this time were the best by far. Peter and his wife inspired the whole team at the hotel to give a very friendly welcome and the hotel ran like clockwork. This is a budget holiday but if you allow for the odd thing not working quite how you would you expect, the whole holiday experience was well delivered and very well organized. The food was plentiful and wholesome and the restaurant setting is very informal which allows you to share skiing experience's with the other guests.

The skiing in Val Cenis is very good and the slopes very much quieter than in the large resorts. We went at Easter and there were virtually no queues at the lifts.

Traveling by coach gives you extra time on holiday and on the slopes but the travel arrangements do tend to be chaotic with Snowcoach and the drivers are well meaning but fail to deliver much information

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony which gives views over the river and onto the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is a warm and friendly Snowcoach hotel, which I hope to visit again. Managers Peter and Joey are very attentive to guests needs, and are keen skiers themselves. Rooms are comfortable and clean and the food is excellent (hats off to chef Craig). I also enjoyed the very hot sauna after a day's skiing and on one occasion the outside hot tub - it broke down mid-week. After dinner entertainment is also provided - quiz; games, etc. - and the staff and some guests don fancy dress for the final evening dinner.

As for the skiing, don't be fooled by the apparently smallish piste area. The skiing on piste is very varied from high mountain runs (down from 2800m) to in the trees trails, and the north facing slopes hold the snow very well. The bonus is the large amount of off piste terrain available within the piste area, especially after a good fall of new snow. There is also Bonneval an easy bus ride away with the top lift reaching just over 3000m.Easily enough variety for a week's stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This was my first ski holiday to Val Cenis.
If you don't take the Snowcoach from the UK, it is a three hour mini bus transfer from Geneva, and although I have skied in many other resorts, found this little French village with its more than adequate ski areas, to be a very pleasurable experience.
On arrival I was given a lovely, bright warm room over looking the river and mountains at the back of the hotel.
The day started with a good array of breakfast items on offer, a fantastic ski hire service situated at the hotel, so no walking miles in your ski boots, and the nearest chair lift minutes away. It is not surprising that The Alpazur has so many returning customers.
Afternoon tea at 4.30 was always a good selection of cakes and biscuits, followed a couple of hours later by an amazing four course dinner with free wine and coffee.

What really makes this hotel SO special is the wonderful welcome by all the staff.
Many thanks to Peter, Joey, Craig and the rest of the team who worked so hard to make this a fantastic week with a lot of laughs along the way...

Room Tip: South facing, room 24 with a balcony, overlooking the river and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Peter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Our family of six, 2 adults and 4 children, enjoyed our first family ski trip with Snowcoach in Val Cenis during the February half-term in 2013. We were blessed with great snow conditions, bright blue skies and a lovelly group of hotel guests.

The hotel is perfectly situated at the base of the slopes and close to the main high speed chair lift, which was really important for a mixed ability group. We were fortunate enough to be based in the hotel apartment, with bags of space and views to die for.

The welcome, food and customer service were of the highest standards for a club hotel provision. The management and staff were friendly, professional and great fun in equal measure and could not have done more to ensure we had a brilliant holiday. They were an absolute credit to the company in all areas.

We opted to travel by coach despite a few negative reviews seen on-line. The coach was new, well-equippped, comfortable(ish) and well driven by the experienced co-drivers. The journey was probably as good as any long-distance coach trip could be and certainly much better than expected. Most importantly, for a family of 6 travelling at half-term, it was astonishingly good value for money.

The coach journey also meant that we enjoyed 2 full days extra skiing on both Saturdays, which as chageover days, meant the slopes were virtually deserted - Fabulous!

A few minor niggles with a lack of hot water and some limited ski equipment availability, both caused by half-term high use and changeover day, however they were quickly resolved and soon forgotten.

Away from the Alpazur, the only real frustration was with ESF. Advertised as English-speaking ski instructors, however, whilst able to speak English, they choose just to speak French! Nevertheless, the kids got the message and benefitted from the lessons.

Val Cenis, Alpazur and Snowcoach were a perfect combination for a family ski trip and we certainly hope to return next year.

A big thank you to Peter, Joey and the team at Alpazur and Snowcoach, you were the perfect hosts!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chalfont6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lanslebourg Mont Cenis hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Charles Val Cenis
Hotel Saint Charles Val Cenis
#1 of 10 in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
195 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Club Vacanciel Val Cenis
Hotel Club Vacanciel Val Cenis
#4 of 10 in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Les Alpages de Val Cenis
Les Alpages de Val Cenis
#2 of 10 in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Cle des Champs
Hotel La Cle des Champs
#2 of 3 in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Val Cenis
Hotel Club mmv Val Cenis
#6 of 10 in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
136 reviews
1.0 mi away
CGH Residence Les Chalets de Flambeau
CGH Residence Les Chalets de Fla...
#1 of 7 in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Alpazur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Alpazur

Property: Hotel l'Alpazur
Address: 106 Rue du Mont Cenis, 73480 Lanslebourg Mont Cenis, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing