We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Motel was good, weather wasn't”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Havelock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Motel was good, weather wasn't”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Great little motel, staff were welcoming and friendly, room I had (5) was great, big enough for me with spa bath, and they have an outdoors pool and hot tub. Weather wasn't on my side but the stay was good. Drive to it also amazing from picton.
Just down the road is the mussel restaurant which was excellent too.
And the pub next door also served good steak too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    29
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
62
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
160 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were in the middle of a camping expedition with three dogs when we got rained out near the Sounds. Out of desperation we stopped here to see if they could take us.

The Motels are dog friendly, something that more motels around the country should consider, we stayed two nights and had a great time. The units we stayed in were clean and tidy and there seemed to be a good range of accommodation from older to newer.

The pool area is really good with a high-quality fitout. It also includes a wooden hot tub mineral pool, which was excellent for the aches and pains.

It's next door to the local pub, but we didn't have any problems with noise, and its in the middle of Havelock so you have everything that you need.

The owners were friendly and helpful providing home baking as well. For free.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atomic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Purchased online vouchers for this stay here and we were impressed with the friendly and excellent service from Carrie (not sure if that's how her name is spelled). The room is spacious and well-equipped. Very clean and comfortable.
Really enjoyed my stay here and will indeed come back to this place again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyTimTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

This would be well up there as one of the cleanest motels we have stayed in. Our unit was spacious and very comfortable with large bathroom sporting a huge spa bath and separate shower. The heat pump was most welcome after a big day out with comfortable overnight heating should you need it. Comfortable beds, huge flat screen TV and more than adequate Continental Breakfast. Close to the water with lovely eating places a short walking distance away. Plenty to choose from. Va (?) works very hard, is very helpful and smiles the whole time. Thank you!

Room Tip: We were in one of the units attached to the Reception area and were very pleased with what we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed 3 months in this motel The staff and the owners were awesome. They offered us a great deal (unbeatable) for a studio with all the facilities. We would definitely recommend this place because it's clean, they have big rooms and those people are really helpful (always there when we needed anything) and maintained the place very well.
You won't find a better place in Havelock for the same price.
Thank you guys for everything. Thank you Hayley for your kindness.

Sofiane & Jazmin from Australia

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is a very quiet and peaceful place to stay. Staff were very friendly, and even allowed us to have our dogs stay over night, after checking this with them when booking. Kindly gave us a motel with car park directly outside to accommodate our dogs. The motels are perfect for the price, and have everything you need for one or two nights or maybe even a longer stay. Havelock is a really up-and-coming place and no different from places in the Sunshine Coast where you pay top dollars to visit. It's all here in our own little slice of paradise. So if you haven't visited Havelock, you really need to do so!

Room Tip: I would say that they are all well appointed. If you want the view, then you need to be upstairs, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecil007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Studio was clean and very comfortable and had all the facilities we expected. Average price for this type of room, Only stayed one night after the crossing from Wellington, at the start of our marathon journey around South Island. It rated highly in our experiences.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock
14.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
14.7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
12.6 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
Blue Moon Lodge
Blue Moon Lodge
#4 of 8 in Havelock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Te Rawa Resort
Te Rawa Resort
#5 of 5 in Havelock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge

Property: Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
Address: 50 Main Road, Havelock 7100, New Zealand (Formerly Gateway To The Sounds Havelock Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Havelock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Havelock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the main road, between Blenheim and Nelson, with the town's restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. We offer family friendly accommodation with a variety of room options, from studios to family units to luxury spa rooms. We have recently opened a heated mineral pool and kids pool also a cedar hot tub. Wifi broadband is available free of charge. Our newest rooms have stunning marina views and all unit have 50 plus sky TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing