We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Havelock
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Had the best fun with our 3 kids after a long day, swimming and playing in the gorgeous new pool at these motels. The area has been well thought out and looks great. Would recommend for a family. Nice evening stroll around the marina too on a lovely evening.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great motel, Room was really clean.

We stayed for a couple of nights, and we just loved the pool area - just beautiful, as were the grounds above!

Staff were really friendly and helpful!

Havelock is a lovely little place, and I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Great little motel, staff were welcoming and friendly, room I had (5) was great, big enough for me with spa bath, and they have an outdoors pool and hot tub. Weather wasn't on my side but the stay was good. Drive to it also amazing from picton.
Just down the road is the mussel restaurant which was excellent too.
And the pub next door also served good steak too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were in the middle of a camping expedition with three dogs when we got rained out near the Sounds. Out of desperation we stopped here to see if they could take us.

The Motels are dog friendly, something that more motels around the country should consider, we stayed two nights and had a great time. The units we stayed in were clean and tidy and there seemed to be a good range of accommodation from older to newer.

The pool area is really good with a high-quality fitout. It also includes a wooden hot tub mineral pool, which was excellent for the aches and pains.

It's next door to the local pub, but we didn't have any problems with noise, and its in the middle of Havelock so you have everything that you need.

The owners were friendly and helpful providing home baking as well. For free.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atomic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Purchased online vouchers for this stay here and we were impressed with the friendly and excellent service from Carrie (not sure if that's how her name is spelled). The room is spacious and well-equipped. Very clean and comfortable.
Really enjoyed my stay here and will indeed come back to this place again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TammyTimTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This would be well up there as one of the cleanest motels we have stayed in. Our unit was spacious and very comfortable with large bathroom sporting a huge spa bath and separate shower. The heat pump was most welcome after a big day out with comfortable overnight heating should you need it. Comfortable beds, huge flat screen TV and more than adequate Continental Breakfast. Close to the water with lovely eating places a short walking distance away. Plenty to choose from. Va (?) works very hard, is very helpful and smiles the whole time. Thank you!

Room Tip: We were in one of the units attached to the Reception area and were very pleased with what we had.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed 3 months in this motel The staff and the owners were awesome. They offered us a great deal (unbeatable) for a studio with all the facilities. We would definitely recommend this place because it's clean, they have big rooms and those people are really helpful (always there when we needed anything) and maintained the place very well.
You won't find a better place in Havelock for the same price.
Thank you guys for everything. Thank you Hayley for your kindness.

Sofiane & Jazmin from Australia

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock
14.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Te Rawa
The Lodge at Te Rawa
#4 of 4 in Havelock
17 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kiwiss B & B
Kiwiss B & B
#1 of 4 in Havelock
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Moon Lodge
Blue Moon Lodge
#4 of 8 in Havelock
36 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelorus Heights Homestay
Pelorus Heights Homestay
#2 of 4 in Havelock
28 reviews
12.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge

Address: 50 Main Road, Havelock 7100, New Zealand (Formerly Gateway To The Sounds Havelock Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Havelock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Havelock
Price Range: £57 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the main road, between Blenheim and Nelson, with the town's restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. We offer family friendly accommodation with a variety of room options, from studios to family units to luxury spa rooms. We have recently opened a heated mineral pool and kids pool also a cedar hot tub. Wifi broadband is available free of charge. Our newest rooms have stunning marina views and all unit have 50 plus sky TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing