We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Havelock
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good overnight stop”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We booked a standard studio unit specifying we needed wheelchair access but the first unit we were offered had a couple of steps required to access it so we asked to be switched to the next door unit which only had one low step which was quickly achieved.

Room was comfortable and fairly cheap compared to others in NZ. We ate at the nearby pub.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mymsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    29
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
63
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Clean well appointed homes, excellent friendly staff and a great view. Amazingly the hot and cold water mixed prior to exiting the taps and for the first time in a long time, one of the light switches had a 'dimmer'. I had a pleasant stay in Havelock and the motel was a large part of this wonderful experience. Thanks once again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Joe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HavelockMotel, Owner at Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Jo, We are glad you had such a great time with us, I hope you got to enjoy the heated pool and hot tub as well. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New Zealand maybe with your wife as well. All the best on the rest of your travels around this beautiful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This motel and motor lodge is the best in the south. The staff are efficient and very friendly the rooms have always been spotless and now they have this fantastic new pool complex. Heated large swimming pool, relaxation pool and cedar hot tub! I spent my rare down time beside the pool enjoying my surroundings.

It is very responsible priced and they now offer a wide range of packages so you can enjoy the beautiful area as well.

Highly recommended..

Room Tip: The new units have great marina views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HavelockMotel, Owner at Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Maria
We are really glad you had such an enjoyable time with us at The Havelock Motels and Motor Lodge. The New Pool is a great place to unwind and relax. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Havelock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at Havelock Motel with our 2 children. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had a 2 bedroom room which was terrific with the children. The room was very clean and spacious and nice and handy to the shops and marina. The new pool/spa area is absolutely amazing. We could of spent all day just lazing around there! Highly recommend. We look forward to our next trip back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

It was by pure chance that I stopped in Havelock just before Christmas and this hotel had space for me. If you like to take a break from driving (I'd been trying to fit too much into my holiday) and relax with water, then this is your place. My room had a good sized (and very new looking) spa bath. I got a bottle of wine with my stay and the two went together really well! There is also a really nice pool. It's heated which is good. I was so relaxed floating on my back watching the sky that a staff member checked to make sure I was okay! There's a wooden hot tub near the pool but I didn't have a chance to try it. If I ever pass through that way again, I'll give it a go! It was nice to have friendly staff (there is a Scottish (I think?) lady there who was hilarious!) who were happy to chat (and share baked goods :-)).

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NessRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Had the best fun with our 3 kids after a long day, swimming and playing in the gorgeous new pool at these motels. The area has been well thought out and looks great. Would recommend for a family. Nice evening stroll around the marina too on a lovely evening.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great motel, Room was really clean.

We stayed for a couple of nights, and we just loved the pool area - just beautiful, as were the grounds above!

Staff were really friendly and helpful!

Havelock is a lovely little place, and I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock
14.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
14.7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
12.6 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
Blue Moon Lodge
Blue Moon Lodge
#4 of 8 in Havelock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Te Rawa Resort
Te Rawa Resort
#5 of 5 in Havelock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge

Property: Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
Address: 50 Main Road, Havelock 7100, New Zealand (Formerly Gateway To The Sounds Havelock Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Havelock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Havelock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the main road, between Blenheim and Nelson, with the town's restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. We offer family friendly accommodation with a variety of room options, from studios to family units to luxury spa rooms. We have recently opened a heated mineral pool and kids pool also a cedar hot tub. Wifi broadband is available free of charge. Our newest rooms have stunning marina views and all unit have 50 plus sky TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing