We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Moon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Moon Lodge
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very friendly and value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed in a double room, it was fine, clean - nothing special but did the job. Shared bathroom was clean with a good shower. Host was very friendly and helpful. Only downer was the proximity to the road which large trucks seemed to use. Overall good value for money and would recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back as the ones at the front bear the brunt of the noisy trucks which pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikinbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    12
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
14
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We're not backpackers either, but we had a look at a double en-suite room and took it on the spot. Very comfortable and clean, great modern bathroom, excellent rate and Dave the manager's very helpful and friendly. Stay there!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Highly recommend this place. Had only intended to stay one night and stayed two. Four of us. All crashing 50's. Double ensuite rooms. Very clean and comfortable night sleep. Fantastic kitchen. Hosts went beyond the call of duty even helping and teaching us how to open our scollops caught fresh that day. Stunning sweeping views from the massive deck. Just feels really good. At just 60 bucks a night. You're mad if you dont stay there. Sensational fishing trips too!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debinbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sassenheim
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

This hostel is one of my favorites on my stay in New Zealand. We stayed here in january 2011. Shane and Asha were so friendly and warm. I've been fishing with Shane for trout. with a nice German guy named Dirk. We didn't catch anything but Shane cooked us some fish of his own. We ate that together with Dirk, Shane , Asha and the two of us. Were do you do that. It was so cosy. By the way, drink a beer. It is great.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheoNieuwenhuijsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

i stayed 4 month in this place and it was the best kiwi experience had have..if you like fishing , hunting or just have fun that`s the place to be ..
Asha and Shane are very helpfull for what you are looking for.. the house is very friendly , clean and the pool is the best !! and during the summer you can enjoy the spa , front of the bush ,is just a amazing experience...If you go there you`ll never forget this lovely family... thank for everything ;)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ignelouada n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

I stayed here for 3 weeks. Asha and Shane are very helpfull and willing to take u around. the hostel is very clean. Its nice to actually have a clean kitchen in a hostel, something you wont see often. I would definitly recommend this to other people. Its a nice and cozy hostel and a very good atmosphere! :)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JitskeAben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock
0.0 mi away
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Te Rawa Resort
Te Rawa Resort
#5 of 5 in Havelock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelorus Heights Homestay
Pelorus Heights Homestay
#2 of 5 in Havelock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Smiths Farm Holiday Park
Smiths Farm Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Linkwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kiwiss B & B
Kiwiss B & B
#1 of 5 in Havelock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
7.1 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Lodge

Property: Blue Moon Lodge
Address: 48 Main Road, Havelock 7100, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Havelock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Havelock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Moon Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the past 5 years we have been proud to provide a clean & comfortable environment for our guests.We would love to help you to plan your Havelock experience, We can assist you with Transport to local walk/cycle tracks, & would love to help you decide which of the local activities would suit you best.Pelourus Eco Adventures-Walking-MT biking-fishing-Kayaking-boating or cruises.No trip would be complete without trying our Greenshell Mussels, Shane cooks you a taste of the region every nite at 6pm.We have a fully equiped kitchen and BBQ, or there is a full range of dining options if you prefer to leave the cooking to someone else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Blue Moon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing