We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
On The Track Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlin Motel(Picton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
165
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarrot cakeduncan baytrain carriagehot tubpacked lunchon arrivalwarm welcomewater taxiself cateringhour walkcan't wait to go backattention to detailthank you so muchnew ownersfantastic hostsfour hoursthis place is amazing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We tramped in to the lodge from Duncan Bay through lovely bush and were surprised to see so much rata in flower.Stopped to swim at the DOC campsite and also swam off the Nydia Bay jetty. When we arrived at the lodge we were warmly welcomed by three generations of the family - and given a complimentary drink and scrumptious muffin. We then worked up an appetite playing badminton and croquet on the spacious lawn. Norma provided an excellent dinner which was beautifully presented by people who care about good service and hospitality. Our decision to stay at On the Track lodge was a very last minute thing, however we will definitely be back with family and friends to enjoy this magic place run by caring people,

Room Tip: We chose a downstairs cabin because it was a very warm evening and we thought the upstairs rooms would be hotter.Had a great sleep after spending time in the hot-tub and enjoyed hearing the weka and moorpork calling.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate255678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

What an awesome place to stay .. Thanks Duncan, Tom and Norma for a fantastic stay which was not long enough .. great food, great spot and great hospitality .. will definitely be coming back and can't wait

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Fantastic welcome and hospitality from Duncan, Tom, Norma and Pops from the moment we arrived until we left. The lodge is situated in tranquil surroundings and nothing is too much
bother for this wonderful family. Norma is an excellent cook and takes the concept of a "packed lunch" to a different stratosphere!
The hiking was really enjoyable with awesome views of the Sounds, but it was the kindness and attention to detail of our hosts that really made the weekend. Cannot wait to return with our dogs.

If you want the perfect weekend away this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Stayed in the converted railway carriage and thoroughly enjoyed it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bib61150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

During our two nights at On the Track, we couldn't get over the gracious hospitality of the host family, Duncan and his parents, Norma and Tom (and Duncan's 90+-year-old father too!). We ate our best NZ meal here (several courses of perfectly cooked, delectable vegetables, a roast chicken, homemade ice cream and chocolate truffles--all made by Norma!). We arrived at On the Track Lodge by sea kayak, and were immediately greeted by Duncan with tea and freshly made pastries. A spacious porch almost encircles the main building, and it's tempting to spend your whole time reading, lounging and drinking tea here--there's also croquet and a giant chess set. But you don't want to miss the chance to hike the uncrowded Nydia Track with its dramatic views of the turquoise bay, or get out into the bay itself in one of the kayaks or on the mail boat. Tom filled up our private hot tub for us both nights, and we soaked under the stars. It's not a fancy place in some ways--bathrooms are in a separate building, and our bedroom was upstairs, with an attic-like ceiling you had to be careful not to bump your head on. But for us, that was all part of the charm, and the bathhouse was so beautifully designed that we especially enjoyed it, too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durangotraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Family run & extremely hospitable hosts halfway along an extremely pretty coastal track, you won't want to book just one night here. Our party of eight (including 10 week old baby Sophie) splashed about in the outside hot tub, enjoyed al fresco self catering dining in the front yard, cooked up large in the spotless & well appointed kitchen & stayed in chalets and a 1st class wagon. We caved in to temptation & went for the dessert on offer too. Spoilt rotten we were. You will be too.

Room Tip: Go First Class with an ensuite. Umm, the fitness centre is the walk in. You don't need one when you are there except to work off the fabulous dessert.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews