We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than just a boat trip.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelorus Mail Boat

Pelorus Mail Boat
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Havelock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: An all day cruise through the beautiful Marlborough Sounds delivering mail and groceries to remote and secluded properties. The Pelorus Sound is the largest of the Sounds and the Mail Boat is a lifeline to the people living in this boat access wonderland.You will hear a great selection of stories about life in the sounds, its history, and how the mail has been delivered like this since 1918.You will also get to experience the marine and bird life in the area including 5 types of Dolphins, Australasian Gannets, rare Shags, Seals and many more.A full Mussel Farm tour is also included and there is usually an opportunity to see the Mussel Boats operating during harvesting or seeding.
Chelsfield, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More than just a boat trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our trip on the Pelorus Mail Boat was on the Friday at the end of March 2014. The day started very misty but as soon as we got out to the Sound we left that behind. Much has been said about the Skipper, Jim and Co Skipper Penny, I can only repeat all the good praise. Diligent 'Posties', professional Skippers and first class tour guides. Thank you both.

To explore a beautiful wilderness whilst serving a dispersed population is a wonderful way to discover an new area. Learning about these small communities, their history, their people and not forgetting their pets was eye opening. Most can't comprehend how they manage it.

A once a week mail drop must be a welcomed event to these people. What I found funny was it was to their pets too. Not only were we met at the end of a jetty by expecting locals but a full array of animals, all waiting to get a small treat from the Skipper. First was a dog in a boat, the next dog on a jetty, the following stop two pigs, then a ewe, then a couple of hens. All at the end of their jetty waiting for the Mail Boat to stop by. Wonderful!

This will be a must do trip on our next visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Wing_Watcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    21
    10
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Day in the Sounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

What an excellent trip. Jim and Penny made the day one to remember with their friendly knowledgible hospitality. It was great to see the faces of the people who live in the sounds as they came down to collect their mail. And the 50+ dolphins that played with us for 30 minutes or so was just the best. I am still smiling. I thoroughly enjoyed hearing about the history and current happenings in these beautiful sounds A truly worthwhile trip.Thanks a million Jim and Penny.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LIveit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An exceptional full one day boat trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

A courtesy transfer between Picton & Havelock taking about 1 hour is an added bonus to see more of this ares. On this working mail boat delivering mail parcels and people to their homes in some of the most remote area in New Zealand you get to know Owner skipper Jim and Co skipper Penny and their interesting stories as you travel through the Sounds. You may see whales or dolphins - a bonus. We didn't but the bonus for me was being able to access this area with friendly informative people on a boat that was easy to move around on. Its a must do trip. I hope to repeat it

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Thanks to Jim and Penny for a wonderful day cruise on the Mail Boat. Commentaries were very informative. Allowing hubby Phil to drive the boat for a while was a highlight, amongst many others. The views of the Pelorus Sounds from the boat were spectacular. We know know how mussels are farmed! And how mail gets delivered to such remote areas in NZ. The sea was calm as and even though a little cloudy, this did not restrict any photo opportunities.
A wonderful 7.5 hrs spent with lovely hosts. Thankyou.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very enjoyable, good commentary, very friendly and knowledgeable people. There are 3 different mail runs - next time we are back holidaying in the area we will definitely do one of the other trips.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EnR313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelorus Mail Boat also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Havelock, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Pelorus Mail Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing