We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Havelock Garden Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlin Motel(Picton)
US$109
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broadway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$322
US$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Aldan Lodge Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jasmine Court Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
64
33
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
33
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadmussel potmature treestwo bedroom unitlovely groundsspent nights heregreen oasismail boatmarlborough soundsnew zealandgood sizeone nightsouth islandquiet locationcomfortable roomsmall townfriendly hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Our normal getaway spot was all booked up so we decided to try somewhere different for our anniversary and we are so glad to have picked this motel and town!
Very helpful hosts, the rooms were clean and comfy and had everything we could require for our stay.
Looking forward to coming back!

Room Tip: Even though the motel is on the main road the units are located far back, so you wont get any noise in any of the units
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJDHavelock, Owner at Havelock Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hi Michelle, How fortunate were we that your usual haunt was fully booked! Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for the positive feedback. Hopefully we will see you on your next anniversary.
Many thanks Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We first stayed here 3 years ago, and sought it out again for its quiet situation set well back from the road (which is not busy anyway). Our studio was comfortable, spacious & well equipped. The one minor problem was that the wi-fi did not reach, but it was quite pleasant sitting on the log-pile in the garden in the evening sun catching up with our e-mails!
Excellent base for the stunning Queen Charlotte Drive to Picton and the ferry, and the Marlborough Sounds in general.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJDHavelock, Owner at Havelock Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hi Bob, So pleased to hear that you were making your second trip to us. Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review.
The WIIF coverage is something I will be investigating this winter so if we are fortunate enough to see you again hopefully the coverage will have improved and the wood pile gone! Kind regards Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Fantastic place to stay, just off the main road but no road noise. Comfortable with all you would expect in a motel, good laundry and drying (as long as the weather is good).Excellent host. Very convenient for last or first day on South Island, just up Queen Charlotte Drive from Picton.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top of the drive are furthest away from the road.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuttonRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJDHavelock, Owner at Havelock Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you Richard for your kind comments and for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you didn't find the clothes dryer in the guests laundry it must have been very unpleasant trying to dry damp clothes in your unit, especially if the weather was inclement during your stay. I will take steps to improve our signage. Have a lovely Christmas and New Year.
KInd regards Karen and Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

my wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and cant believe how lucky we were to stumble upon it. A beautiful location in brilliantly kept gardens. Very tidy clean and well kitted out with the most friendly hosts you could wish for. All you can hear is the stream and the ducks, wonderful. All the local facilities are within a very short walk, a must to stay for a few nights, I know we will again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porthcressa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJDHavelock, Owner at Havelock Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

It is always so nice to check your e-mails and find that someone has taken time out of their holiday to write a lovely review. So thank you so much. I hope that the rest of your holiday is going well and that the sun is shining on you, not always the case at this time of year!
Thank you again from Karen, Alan and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this sweet place when we stopped to have dinner at the mussel pot just beside the motel. I must say that the motel is rather easy to miss as the driveway entrance is rather small and shaded by trees.

Nevertheless, what a gem this place is! Neat and beautiful garden, cute pond with white ducks and ducklings even, filled also with the sound of nature: bird and insect calls. Our hostess was ever so friendly and wonderful. The room exceeded expectations. Clean, well-equipped kitchen, nice shower, and comfy beds.

Needless to say, worth every penny

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Cherynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJDHavelock, Owner at Havelock Garden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hi Cherynn,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, which I have passed on to all the staff, and for taking the time to write a review. You will be glad hear that all 5 ducklings are being well looked after by Mum and are growing daily. I hope the rest of your trip is proving to be as enjoyable and that the sun is following you.
Kind regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews