We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ditchling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Horse Accommodation
Ranked #4 of 4 Ditchling B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We used the pub as stopover for South Downs Way walk. Staff really helpful, attentive and genuinely interested in you.
The restaurant was excellent with wonderful real ales available. Sensibly priced. Nice staff.
The room was nothing like the photos on the web and we felt wed been misled. There was just enough room to walk round the beds and that was it. They were so tiny. (for that reason they lost a rating) but if all you need is to get your head down for the night, then OK.
Shared bathrooms down the corridor. Everything very clean.
Ditchling is a lot busier traffic-wise than we expected and parking was troublesome.

Room Tip: ask about the room size before committing if it important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbackham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    10
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Co Down
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Relaxed and friendly pub with a real local feel. Accommodation-wise, it felt very functional. This was adequate for me as I was walking the South Downs Way and not the smartest of guests. Very clean in all areas, but to be honest it reminded me a little of a hospital, all white!! A few pictures on the walls would add splashes of interest. I had dinner and it was ok, being a Sunday a roast chicken and quite good value. I wouldn't describe breakfast as slick, but I got what I asked for. Had to hang around a little for check-out and the bill wasn't correct -- it was too little!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelluverCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed in the master suite which was absolutely amazing - beautifully decorated and furnished. Breakfast was good quality and delicious.
We ate lunch and dinner in the pub - again this was delicious, well presented and good value for money.
The hospitality from the owner and staff team was wonderful. We would definitely stay here again.
The only slight criticism I have is that when the kitchen was in use you could smell this in the bedroom - However, I am not sure how this could be avoided.

Room Tip: go for the master suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wren79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights. I'd requested one of the larger double en suite rooms following the comments on this website. Unfortunately our room had the extractor fan from the kitchen right outside the window which was not only noisy, although it was switched off at around 10pm, but the extracted smells from the kitchen came straight up and through the window which meant whilst the fan was on it wasn't possible to have the window open without the room completely filling up. The room was basic and small and I felt it was at the very top end of what I would expect to pay for the room. We had plans for our first day, however we felt we had to negotiate with the owner over how early we wanted breakfast, is 8am too early? We settled on 8.30am however on arrival in the bar the next morning he showed up 10 minutes late and we then had to wait while everything was organised. As it was we had plenty of time, however we felt as though we were being an inconvenience.
We didn't eat here as on arrival at the pub the bar was absolutely filled with flies which was disappointing.
Wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Simply ideal for an overnight when walking the South Downs Way (SDW). We had walked over from Storrington, which was about 21 miles so were tired and dusty. Our room was not en suite but with the dedicated bathroom that was not a problem. Simple and very clean rooms. Great for the Dark Star range of beer and food also above average. Staff really helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast in the morning was the best that we had en route and a really nice guy chef who was proud of his job and standards achieved (rightly so and good to hear). We were offered a lift the next day after breakfast back up to the top of the ridge to continue our route which was really thoughtful. Met up with some cyclists we had seen previously and who had stayed at the nearby jack and Jill at Clayton. They were not at all happy about their stopover so we were pleased we had made the right choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed the night here recently for a wedding we were attending in Ditchling. This was just what you'd want from a small country pub - old beams, ales and judging from the breakfast we had in the morning great food.

The staff were very friendly helpful and seemed genuinely pleased that we were there, and were also very informative - as were I have to say the locals in the pub!

One small note our room was quite small - but this is an old building so you have to be realistic about what is possible! Certainly the accommodation was very clean and comfortable and i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The White Horse has managed to keep the atmosphere of a good local pub whilst serving great food. It is a local pub that serves great foor..not a Gastro Pub (Thank God!). Good value prices for food and wine.

Good choice of excellent beers and very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are a little small but spotlessly clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ditchling
0.0 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 1 in Ditchling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tovey Lodge
Tovey Lodge
#1 of 4 in Ditchling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Accommodation

Property: The White Horse Accommodation
Address: 16 West Street, Ditchling BN6 8TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ditchling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ditchling
Also Known As:
The White Horse Accommodation Ditchling, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing