We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like a real pub, but at a price”
Review of The Bull

The Bull
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Ditchling
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Feels like a real pub, but at a price”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Met friends (locals) for lunch recently. The pub has a nice feel with good beers (Harveys of Lewes and Timothy Taylor Landlord) and friendly staff. Plenty of space outside when the weather is good and an eclectic mix of furniture inside. Menu is interesting and well presented but you have to be honest, not cheap (soup of the day, pea & mint, very nice, but £6!). Worth a visit but expect to pay London prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    61
    38
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
159 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Can't fault it but not raving about it either!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is the first time we have been in here in the evening for a long time. It always was a busy local pub and the Thursday evening we were in it was very busy and it took a little while to get a table. Staff were helpful and efficient, there were certainly plenty of them!
I wasn't overly impressed with the menu, a mixture of trying to be different with a couple of pub favourites, fish and chips, burgers. I had confit of lamb which was lovely, a little bit too much lamb but the veg were delicious. My husband had a burger and thought it was just boring, the fries were swimming in fat!
We had lunch in the garden a few weeks ago and really enjoyed it. Just a club sandwich but it was well done.
I'm sure we will be back in a 'it's on the way home and the food is on the better side of average' kind of way.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely pub but very expensive”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The pub has had a makeover and is very nice both inside and out and our meal was very nice but very very expensive. Fish and chips for £14

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ninnyjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pevensey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I found the staff very friendly and efficient and despite being a Bank Holiday, was not too busy. I found a table straight away, not in the main bar, which I find too dark, but next door. The beefburger was excellent, served not on a plate, but on a platter, with chips in a bowl, which seems to be the trend. Very tasty, though a little tricky to tackle. At £11, I found that fairly reasonable. Being in the middle of Ditchling, everything is walking distance - the artist open houses and the museum.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dvdgurr04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not very good”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We visited for a family meal whilst over for the Artist Open Houses & although the manager was very efficient, we found it over priced, pretentious and not very good. Lots of info in the advertising about being one of the top ten pubs in etc etc, but really £6 cheapest starter for soup, & £14 for small fish and chip or two?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull also viewed

Ditchling, East Sussex
Ditchling, East Sussex
 
Hassocks, West Sussex
Plumpton, East Sussex
 

Been to The Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing