We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for a weekend - faultless.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ditchling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadow Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Ditchling B&B and Inns
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a weekend - faultless.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a night having visited Brighton for the day. The B&B is about 5-10 mins from Hassocks station in a taxi (£6-10).

It was PERFECT for what we were after. Incredibly friendly service, very comfortable and well decorated bedroom and a shared dining room/living room for the guests. Alison and Des were very welcoming and helpful with any questions that we had. The breakfast was spot on and set you up nicely for a long walk on the Downs. I could not recommend this place more!

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest room and it was easily big enough for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Fantastic hospitality and service. Would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. Alison and Des were the perfect hosts. Really would expect to pay more for this standard of bed and breakfast. We will be back next summer with our daughters.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed at Meadow Cottage for 1 night while walking the South Downs Way. We were made to feel really welcome and looked after with tea and cakes on arrival. The whole place was really relaxing and cosy with a roaring log fire. The rooms were comfortable and furnished to a very high standard. Breakfast was brilliant and the packed lunch that was prepared for us for the next day was perfect. Visited a lovely pub in Ditchling which we reached easily across the footpaths - so location was ideal too! We were really happy with our stay and Alison and Des really were the perfect hosts - we will remember our stay at Meadow Cottage very fondly.

Room Tip: Double rooms had a shared bathroom but was not an issue for us - great shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knorman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I stayed here for just one night in the twin room at Meadow Cottage and was really impressed by every aspect of my stay - Alison gave friendly, helpful advice via email after booking through a 3rd party website and a warm welcome with coffee and homemade cakes when I arrived.. The room was spotless, with soft, inviting bed linen, a lovely shower & high quality towels & toiletries. Following a good night's sleep, we were served an extensive (but not excessive), really well-prepared breakfast and all for a more than reasonable rate. I would urge anyone visiting the South Downs region, or for those who would rather stay outside Brighton to make Meadow Cottage top of their list. I'd definitely return without hesitation!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonknowlesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have stayed in many B&B's of the years and this is by far the best, by a country mile! Alison and Des instantly made us feel welcome and relaxed. The rooms are warm, clean and equipped with your every need. For me, the breakfast was beautifully cooked and vast! My wife had fresh fruit and yoghurt and had been well catered for her gluten free diet. We would recommend Meadow Cottage to anyone. 5 stars just isn't enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Clean, luxurious and cozy, with afternoon scones and a lit fireplace there is nothing more we could have wanted. The couple are very hospitable, considerate and helpful. The most understated part is how well it is located, there are direct walks up the beautiful south downs way- with views to the sea. It was 10 minute drive to Brighton, so the perfect combination of countryside retreat and easy access to sight seeing. We also enjoyed a lovely meal in the local pub- recommended by our hosts.
Not forgetting the ; comfy beds, powerful shower and amazing breakfast.

Room Tip: we had the en-suit which had a very powerful shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lydiambarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

From the moment we arrived, Alison and Des made us feel completely at home and looked after our every need. We had the twin room which was spacious, luxuriously furnished and with an amazing bathroom and shower ensuite. The whole house was full of beautiful furnishings and to the highest standard. In the evenings we relaxed watching the extensive sky channels in the cosy living room with the log burner keeping us warm, and it really felt like we were at home (albeit a much nicer version of our home!) This is a quiet countryside retreat but very close to Brighton, without all the hustle and bustle of the big city. I am intolerant to gluten and Alison had gone out of her way to get me special cakes, sausages, bread and cereal which was so lovely. We will most definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ditchling
0.8 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 1 in Ditchling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
5.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tovey Lodge
Tovey Lodge
#1 of 5 in Ditchling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadow Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadow Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Meadow Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Meadow Cottage Underhill Lane, Ditchling BN6 8XE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ditchling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ditchling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just click on 'E-mail hotel' link above for instant availability and confirmation. No deposit or credit card required Less than 8 miles from Brighton, Meadow Cottage offers comfortable and well appointed bed and breakfast accommodation in the Sussex countryside. Found in the village of Ditchling, the cottage lies in a pretty garden and provides free parking and Wi-Fi.Each guest room has an en suite or adjacent shower room. Some also have views of the gardens. There is a separate lounge with TV and tea and coffee facilities.Full English breakfast is served each morning, with locally sourced bacon, eggs and sausages used when possible. There are croissants, toast, cereal, yoghurt and fruit juice, plus a vegetarian cooked breakfast. Meadow Cottage can also supply packed lunches.In the South Downs region, Ditchling has village pubs, a restaurant, tea room and independent shops, and lies on many beautiful walking routes. Just under 20 minutes' drive, the Bohemian seaside resort of Brighton has numerous entertainment venues and bars to enjoy.The property cannot be reached by public transportation. Guests are therefore kindly requested to arrive by their own means.Accomodation comprises of one twin bedded room with en-suite shower room. One double and one small double room and a large shower room (shared by two rooms). Guests sitting room and garden with stunning views of the Downs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meadow Cottage Bed & Breakfast Ditchling, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing